Lake Louise Family Trip


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff National Park
June 16th 2019
Published: June 24th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I worked, saved and invested well so that some day I could do some very nice things with my family. At first, I wanted to take the whole family to Munich, Germany for Oktoberfest, but my daughter Heather is a teacher and Oktoberfest in September isn't a time she can leave her job. My next thought was to take them to one of the most beautiful places I've ever been in all my travels. That place is Lake Louise in Banff National Park in the Canadian Rocky Mountains.



10 years ago, a couple years after I retired, I made a trip in my 2000 Suburban from Chicago to Alaska and back. I headed for the Teton Mountains in Wyoming and from there, followed the Rocky Mountains as far north as they go before driving the Alaska Highway. In the Canadian Rockies, I stopped to photograph Lake Louise since I had read about how beautiful it was. I was so awestruck that I had to spend the night there to get to see it again the next day. I stayed at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, the only building on the lake. Fairmon Chateau Lake Louise



When I got home from the Alaska trip, I promised my wife, Jan, that we would go back to Lake Louise some day. I talked with our son, Brett and his wife Katie, our daughter, Heather and Jan back in January and all agreed that they could make this trip in mid-June. So I started making the plans right then.



So we departed for Calgary, Alberta on June 16th. Brett, Katie and our grandson Bobby flew in from Newark, NJ and arrived a couple hours before we did, so we planned on meeting them at the hotel. It's about a two hour drive from Calgary to Lake Louise but very enjoyable because the last hour is winding through the Rockies. We got there about 4:00 in the afternoon on a beautiful sunny Sunday with temperatures in the mid 70's. It made for some great picture taking of Lake Louise surrounded by mountains with a glacier in the far end from the hotel.

So we relaxed, had dinner and took pictures. As with all landscape photos, they just aren't the same perspective as seeing it with your own eyes, but still gorgeous. Lake Louise is pretty far north and it
Lake Louise View From Our Rooms.Lake Louise View From Our Rooms.Lake Louise View From Our Rooms.

Every day we couldn't stop looking at it.
being June 16th near the summer solstice, darkness didn't come until around 11:30 PM.

Please click on the photos to enlarge them and as always, comments at the bottom of the blog entries are appreciated.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



25th June 2019

Beautiful
I think you may have outdone yourself as far as family vacations go. The beautiful outdoors along with a fancy hotel! Another trip we.d like to go on. Can't wait to hear all about it!
27th June 2019
Lake Louise

Stunning beauty abounds
Marvelous.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 27; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb