Busy with preparation


Advertisement
Bermuda's flag
North America » Bermuda » Southampton
June 16th 2009
Published: June 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have just finished a fabulous week volunteering as a liaison Officer for the tall ships. I was assigned to the ship Mircea - a Romanain Navy training vessel. 184 men and 6 women. They were all delightful from the captain down. They we interested enthusiastic, respectful, and sense of humour. My team of 6 were to assist the ship in whatever they needed to prepare for the next leg of the race to Charleston. We showed them around Bermuda. There were lots of social events planned which they took part in. On Thursday my team and I were able to travel down from Dockyard to Hamilton where there was a raft up of Tall ships from #7 shed to the ferry Terminal and RBYC. It was very sad to say good bye to my ship and 'my boyes' ( I got very attached to them. Yesterday I was able to go in the parade of Sail down North Shore on one of the tall ships that was staying in Bermuda. We were taken to the start line 5 miles off St Davids lighthouse and had a taste of what they were going to experience as it was rough out there.

Today I have been putting the last minute touches to my preparation for my next adventure - 3 months of sailing and diving in Tonga and the Solomon Islands. I am getting very excited. I am more or less packed - getting the boat preped for being away during Hurricane season. I will take down her sails before I go and storing them. I have arranged for someone to look after my baby while I am away.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb