Kiwi land


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
June 21st 2009
Published: June 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ferry TerminalFerry TerminalFerry Terminal

Great contrast of old and new
I arrived in Auckland this morning on my birthday. What a long haul from New York. All the planes were full so no chance of lying down and sleeping. Is there really a recession on? The plane from LA to Auckland was a double deck style and it was full appr 600 - 700 seats!! I managed to get some sleep so I wasn’t too bad when I got to Auckland. After checking in at the hotel, I took a bus tour of Auckland to get a feel for the city and the country. It was great and the weather was fabulous -clear blue sky although I did need my fleece and jacket. I learnt a lot about Auckland. Did you know that a large part of Auckland is built on reclaimed land or that it has a lot of volcanic rock as well as craters?? The kiwis are definitely a hardy bred as there were numerous boats out sail despite the temperature being in single digits. I am off to bed now as I have an early start in the morning 4.30 to catch the plane to Tonga.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

AucklandAuckland
Auckland

View of Auckland from Volcanic crater above the city


Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb