Methuselah On The Move - Update 14 (Dubai)


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
October 16th 2013
Published: October 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Dubai - East Coast TourDubai - East Coast TourDubai - East Coast Tour

Oh, I've got a lovely bunch of coconuts ..... One of the stops on the tour was a place known as the Friday Markets. Very tacky and very cheap. One aim only - get Dirhams out of travelers' pockets and into their tills. All the stuff was cheap and over priced. All the traders were Pakistanis or Indians.
Dubai

Tuesday 15th October

OK I’ve been in Dubai for two days now and the holiday has turned to shit – literally. Ro if you remember the first day in China ……… (well not quite I’m not going both ends). I think you get the point.

One thing I forgot to mention in my last blog is the traffic shock I got when I arrived here. During the drive from the airport I was appalled to see the behavior of the drivers: they were actually driving within their respective lanes and were courteous to each other. What uncommon behavior in the Middle East and Asia. Amazing.

The next thing of note were the number of hookers who were handing out business cards inviting you to a particular address, or if you like they can come to your home or hotel. They were all Asian – Chinese mostly. That’s another thing that stands out: all the workers – shop assistants, hotel staff, taxi and bus drivers, street workers (sweepers, cleaners – not hookers) were also Asian. Most are from Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, or the Philippines. Have hardly seen an Arab working. Mind
Dubai - East Coast TourDubai - East Coast TourDubai - East Coast Tour

I said don't do the tour unless you're interested in Roundabouts. This one has a "Big" lamp in it.
you 78% of the population are ex pats or foreign guest workers. That leaves 22% who are Arabs, or as they call themselves Emiratis. Sorry I lied I did see some working – Immigration and Customs staff at the airport as well as Police. It appears that except for a few farmers most Emiratis work for, or live off, the Government. I have noticed, mainly in hotel lobbies and in restaurants, that the Emiratis are very rude to the “guest workers”.

One for DOH – David they have Tim Horton’s here. I’ll give it a miss. Mind you the coffee in my hotel isn’t half bad.

So what did I do yesterday? Went on the much anticipated East Coast tour. And what did I think about it? A WOFTAM (waste of f***ing time and money). So my advice is, unless you’re interested in roundabouts, having cement plants pointed out, and sitting in a bus that has the air con turned right down to near zero, don’t go. It was the most boring day I have spent on the holiday so far. We had a tour guide (Polish ex pat) who spoke in excellent English and German (didn’t go
Dubai - East Coast TourDubai - East Coast TourDubai - East Coast Tour

OK - enough!. There are seven jars in the middle of this roundabout. Each jar represents one of the Emirates that make up the UAE. A recurring theme - seven items, including Dolphins which looked more like sharks to me.
down too well with the four French people on the tour). Problem was the whole time we were on the bus (except for the last hour on the return run) he didn’t shut up. At one stage I was going to go up and rip the mike out of its socket – I retrained myself.

During the tour saw only two things that interested me: a small mosque built in 1446. The guide quoted the place as being able to hold 146 people. I would estimate closer to 46 and the place would still be a sardine can. Maybe he was talking about the courtyard as well. It was the oldest mosque in the Emirates. What was the other thing? Oh yeah – the Hajar Mountains. The one place we stopped in, Dibba Gorge (the Grand Canyon of the emirates), was not a great photo stop – unless you want to look at road construction sites in the valley.

In the Emirate of Sharjah we saw a number of very nice looking buildings. They were all new but had a very strong Arabic style in their design. The main attraction of the buildings, and what got repeated <em
Dubai - East Coast TourDubai - East Coast TourDubai - East Coast Tour

Now this little island was interesting. Can you guess it's name? It was near the Resort we stopped at for lunch. OK, its called, wait for it, Snoopy Rock.
style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">ad nauseam, is that they were designed by the Sheik of Sharjah who we were told repeatedly had a PhD (not in architecture). Apparently architecture is his hobby – and what the Sheik wants…..

Yesterday evening I went to the bar in the hotel and had a few drinks and dinner (I think it was the dinner that set my guts off – too much cheese – when will I learn) and had a few drinks and a yarn with a young lad who is in the Royal Navy. He’s serving on HMS Illustrious (an aircraft – well helicopter carrier – their Harriers have been mothballed) which is on a port visit along with a Royal Marine Commando carrier. So 2,000 lusty RN and RM lads in port.

That’s mostly it so far – I’m writing this in the early arvo for something to do. I’ve stayed in the hotel all morning – not too keen to go far from the little room. Yesterday evening I booked an early morning visit to the Burg Khalifa – the world’s tallest building. I booked online as it only costs 135 Dirhams, if you turn up and pay on the
Dubai - East Coast TourDubai - East Coast TourDubai - East Coast Tour

On the return leg of the tour. Now this was a lot more interesting. Actual desert.
day about 420 Dirhams. The observation deck is on the 124th floor. The latest slot I could get for tomorrow was at 08:30. All the later daylight slots were taken right up till midnight.

Wednesday 16th October:

Well I did venture out for a short while yesterday. Not too far – the lobby. Had to do some admin work in the business centre. Had dinner in my room – a club sandwich. Also yesterday I had to cancel my flight over Dubai, probably lose some money out of the deal.

Woke early this morning and after breakfast went out for my 08:30 trip to the Burg Khalifa. I was still not feeling one hundred percent, but had to redeem some of the tours I had booked. The trip to the observation deck was worth the trouble and money. It wasn’t too crowded, but I nearly killed some Indian kids – they didn’t go around you they actually shoved you out of the way – I’m talking about 10 year olds and younger. Bought some small souvenirs at the observation deck. A few more baubles to stick around the house. After that I went and redeemed
DubaiDubaiDubai

View from the Observation Deck of Burg Khalifa. Amazing views. The deck is about halfway up on the 142 floor.
my ticket for the Big Bus City Tour. I had booked for two days but will only get one out of it.

Spent most of the morning driving around on the Blue Route, the Beach Tour. Once out of the city area I found it boring and hot so I moved inside to the air con. There was one particular building that caught my attention – the Wafi Centre – a mall, hotels etc. It was done up in Egyptian style – Hieroglyphs and Egyptian Statues everywhere. I don’t think even in their wildest dreams the Ancient Egyptians made it this far. In fact I know they didn’t. Then there was the building along the coast that is based on an Italian Castle, the one on Atlantis, and the one on …………

In the arvo I got onto the Red Line which is the tour around the Dubai Creek area. Only went a couple of stops as I was heading for a boat cruise that was part of the Big Bus deal. It was advertised as being on a “traditional” Dhow – right. Traditional Dhows had air con and a restaurant on board. I
DubaiDubaiDubai

One of the many interchanges that can be observed from a high elevation (aircraft or tall buildings). This pic was taken from the Burg Khalifa. Why they need 12 lane highways (6 each way) in the Emirates I don't know. Maybe cos' they can.
know I’m whingeing and complaining. I won’t go into the French couple and their two brats – don’t know who made the most noise the parents or the kids. Met an Australian guy on the wharf just before we loaded. I said that: “the tours leave every hour n the half hour”. He looked at me and said “I haven’t heard that expression for a while, weren’t in the forces were you”. Turns out he is ex Infantry (Royal Australian Regiment) and a Vietnam Veteran as well.

I did enjoy the trip down the Creek. I was most interested in the traditional water traffic on the creek. The Dhows loading and unloading and the water taxis loaded with people plying backwards and forwards across the Creek. Then there were the RTA (Dubai Public Transport) water buses etc. After the tour I went to a busier area and hopped off the bus. Got a Taxi back to the hotel. Was starting to feel a few rumbles. Good thing I did.

Well tomorrow I head home. I’m being picked up at the hotel at 15:15 and taken to the airport. Have the morning and part of the afternoon to kill.
DubaiDubaiDubai

The Burg Khalifa. Very difficult to get a decent picture of the tower. Especially from a moving vehicle even if it has an open top.
Will probably spend the am doing a couple of things I wanted to do yesterday – go for a ride on the metro for example. I arrive back in Sydney just after 07:00 on Friday. Will pick up a hire car and head home. Wonder if Coco will growl at me when I came to the door like she did last time.

OH! Leanne and Graham – they have the biggest golf balls I’ve ever seen here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

DubaiDubai
Dubai

The Atlantis Hotel. This is on one of the islands that is shaped like a palm tree. The structure on the left is the mono-rail that services the island.
DubaiDubai
Dubai

Dubai Creek. One of the water taxi terminals. I found it interesting watching the boats move back and forth. Add to this the Dhows loading and unloading along the Creek Wharves.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb