A quick one


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
December 27th 2010
Published: December 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I know all has been quiet lately but I didn’t want to post for the sake of posting, and the schools have exams on until leave so not much teaching going on. So a short summary of the week before Anne arrived:

I was in a traffic queue and to my right was a bit of sand leading to the corner I was about to turn around. All of a sudden I hear this noise behind and this car comes flying along the sand just to cut the corner out and maybe save himself roughly 5 seconds. His car is bouncing all over the place (I should point out it wasn’t a 4x4, it was a Toyota Yaris) so I'm pretty sure he wrecked the suspension, and created a nice dust cloud for everyone else.

As some of you may know already, I went to watch some cage fighting. It was a qualifying event for the next major ADFC event (Abu Dhabi fight club) the club itself called the lodge was pretty impressive. It had a huge outdoor garden area where the cage was situated and some nice lounge chairs. The event began and there were some really good entrance songs coming out, the highlight however, was a fight between an Indian guy and a guy from Egypt. I have to add that the Indian was probably about 5ft tall and carried most of his weight around the mid section, also he was apparently a kickboxing/jiu jitsu expert. Well he must of either forgotten all of that training as soon as he walked into the ring or the announcer made a mistake because this guy had one move in his arsenal..... the haymaker. He just kept throwing huge rights at the Egyptian without success and getting caught every time. I counted about 8 headshots and even to head kicks and he was still standing I was amazed, but it was so funny seeing this little guy almost jumping up as he swung his punches, classic. So yeah a top night and there was a 1st round knockout too which made everyone happy ha-ha. Looking forward to the big event in March which will probably be in Abu Dhabi.

Finally:

•I have my nice 42’ LCD TV, complete with surround sound.

•During the national day celebrations, people were fined by the police for ‘over decorating their cars with the national colours, pictures of the Sheikh etc.

•I have a guy who cleans my car 3 times a week. It cost me 100 AED for the month (About 17 quid)

•Finally one of the kids wanted to fight me (messing around of course) and told me to come to his local town at 6pm where he will have his boys waiting for me. Bearing in mind this kid is about 12 years old, but we had a good laugh.

•I have a nice Christmas tree which Anne helped me decorate.

I’ll be posting again very shortly talking about the first week of Anne’s visit.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb