Dubai sunshine, UAE dreams, & Shisha heaven!


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
April 7th 2006
Published: April 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Jumeirah Beach MosqueJumeirah Beach MosqueJumeirah Beach Mosque

Tours are at 10am sharp, Mondays and Thursdays only.
As I disembark from the aircraft, I feel like an ice cream cone quickly melting in the intense heat - and this is at twelve o'clock midnight without the sun shining! Arriving from Amsterdam, where the temperature was minus 3 degrees celcius, and finally landing in Dubai where the sweltering heat is 30 degrees celcius on the midnight hour really shocked my body. Apparently it's not as hot right now as it can get from June through August. Nevertheless, I hop onto a taxi, which only cost 35Dhms ($10 Cdn) to my hotel.

The first thoughts that came to my mind: Where are the Arab Emiraties? The population consists of an overwhelming majority of Indians, Pakistanis, Philipinos, Lebanese and of course, Europeans (not as many as the aforementioned nationalities though).

I hired a private driver, who for a fraction of the cost took me across the city to see all the highlighted sights and sounds of the bustling districts of Dubai, including the development projects, and the infamous workers camps. I can see that the buildings and construction projects being erected in the desert are occurring at the same frequency, albeit at paces so fast that the skyline seems covered with more cranes than buildings. Not much is completed, but it soon should be. Like any other visitor to Dubai, I make the tourist pilgrimage to the Burj Al-Arab, notorious for standing out in the skyline. The locals I spoke to told me a joke that the Burj Al-Arab, when designed by the architect, was purposefully aligned so that when one views it from the ocean (it is brightly lit at night), it looks like a large Christian Cross placed on the Islamic desert 😊 Too funny.

Abu Dhabi was a nice visit as well. To get there, we drove a stretch of road extending for about 130km with palm trees lined all the way - in the middle of the desert where no other vegetation was seen. However, Abu Dhabi is not as bustling as Dubai, but has a more calmer feel with ocean in view. I manage to meet with colleagues who describe the 'down and dirty' of living in the region, and have to ponder whether it is the right place to settle temporarily. On an interesting note, reading the local Gulf News business section, I observed daily featured articles about Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, and what he's up to, drumming up business either meeting with a CEO or another corporate V.I.P. Jobs are plenty, but costs are rising. Long term, it may not be a good option for my career. Nonetheless, having had enough of Dubai after a few days, I decide to take a drive to Al Aqah, and stay at Le Meridien Beach Resort - amazing food, nice views, but can't compare to other beachfronts I've been to. There's just something odd.... it must have something to do with being on a secluded desert beachfront while staring at the ocean filled with dozens of oil tankers docked nearby. Ugh!

Overall, I found an arrogance or superficial tone to parts of Dubai, based on people defining themselves through extreme consumption and / or material wealth. However, I love the sound of the call to prayer everyday - and mosques every 1/2 km. Would I live here? No. Are the people friendly? Depends where you stay. And, yes, to verify based on other blogger claims, there are specific pockets of Bur Dubai and some hotel bars catering to the prostitution trade. I did go on the desert safari, which was fun, and
Jumeirah Beach, Burj Al ArabJumeirah Beach, Burj Al ArabJumeirah Beach, Burj Al Arab

Aaah, the beach, hot breeze, and, nobody to be seen really.
I do recommend hitting some nightclubs like Buddha Bar (the second and only Buddha Bar outside of Paris), Trilogy, Double Decker, and various restaurant / cafes at Medina Jumeirah -- thank you Karan for your help and your recommendations. However, there is something missing to the city itself, aside from the glitz and glamour of nice cars and clothes, shopping malls, and buildings. For me, it was the lack of interaction between different races and cultures, or an understanding of one another. We sort of 'get it' here in Canada, and are more engaged between communities.

Anyway, my trip to Kathmandu is cancelled. Major political strikes in Nepal force me back to Canada. :-(


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Dubai Marina projectDubai Marina project
Dubai Marina project

Just one of the hundreds of building projects - condos set on the waterfront - with the Buddha Bar nightclub nearby, the American University, Dubai Media City around the corner...I don't think this is poor planning!
Desert dinnerDesert dinner
Desert dinner

Yes, I was forced to Belly Dance.
CamelspottingCamelspotting
Camelspotting

My date for the night.
Desert SandunesDesert Sandunes
Desert Sandunes

This is a typical tourist photo that every visitor to Dubai must take :)
Market in the mountainMarket in the mountain
Market in the mountain

On the way to Al Aqah, emirate of Fujairah, stands a roadside market in the Hajar mountains selling persian carpets, fruits, and vegetables.
Le Meridien Al AqahLe Meridien Al Aqah
Le Meridien Al Aqah

All rooms face the Indian Ocean beachfront with the mountains in the background.
Al Aqah BeachfrontAl Aqah Beachfront
Al Aqah Beachfront

The view from my room. Aside from the oil tankers in the distance, it's a clean beach!


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb