Our day in Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
June 5th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Our first (real) and last day in Dubai. We are so jetlagged, but I feel we're very productive for only getting 3 hours of sleep. When we flew in last night, it was dark here. So, it was a beautiful surprise to see the breathtaking view from our hotel room! Also, walking out of the plush, air conditioned hotel was jolting. It was like the humid heat monster just punched you in the face.

We went to bed around 5am and woke up off and on and finally got out on the town around 11AM. For touring, that is a late start. I was a bit discouraged that we wasted our day, but needless to say, we were very productive.

We took a Bus Tour of Dubai where you can hop on and hop off. It was a great way to see all the main tourist attractions of this place: The Palm man made island, Atlantis on the Palm, drove past the World Islands, Mall of the Emirates, Burj al Arab, Burj Dubai and hours and hours of other sites. It was so hot that my cotton shorts were soaked with sweat...it's going to be interesting flying to the equator tomorrow. yikes, a bit nervous for the temp. Its a lot more humid here in Dubai than I thought it would be. We saw most of Dubai from the bus tour. We didn't have the time (or energy!) to hop off at all the places. Most of my pictures are taken from the bus. I am glad we saw Dubai on this tour. I learned a lot. This place does everything to the max and they seem to have a track record of "Biggest/largest/most____ in the world".

We got back from the tour around 5PM and were completely exhausted. I almost fell asleep on the tour...which was really jerky and bumpy, so that's gotta say something. Tired and sweaty, we took a nap in our room. We had the intention to take a quick power nap, but that ended up being 2 hours long...oops! We talked about getting back to the hotel and laying out on the beach and swimming in the Arabian Gulf, but the Air Conditioned room with a king size Westin Heavenly Bed won the battle.

Anyhow, we fly out tomorrow morning 10:40AM Saturday (11:40 PM Friday in Seattle) to Nairobi, Kenya. There we have a day and a half on our own before joining on group and officially starting the safari! I am excited for the safari, but this Dubai experience thus far has spoiled us. We are going from luxurious accomodations with a baday, to digging your own toilet in the dirt, with the possible risk of an animal spying on you. I think we're doing this whole thing thing backwards 😉

Not sure if I'll have internet access in Kenya, but I'll write more as soon as I can!

Thanks for checking in on me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



5th June 2009

lucky!
My favorite part was about your "power nap"... reminds me of when we were on the cruise and forgot to wake up for steak night:) glad you girls are having fun.... be safe. Love you!
5th June 2009

Hi George!
Hi George! Yeah, sounds like the trip has started out the right way!!! I am so jealous of your roomy flight on the plane!!! How awesome was that!!!! Pictures look great!! I hope you have a really good, safe time!!! Can't wait to hear what Africa is like!!! Love Jamie
5th June 2009

JENN eeeeeeeeee
I love your blog, especially how you describe the humidity and the fact that your shorts were soaking wet! LOL, note to self, don't where gray on tour bus. Love you guyzzzzzzz

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb