Leaving Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
October 17th 2007
Published: October 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

We are off to Amman today. We leave from Sharja, which is about 10 minutes from Dubai but with the traffic it can take up to 2 hours.Our flight is leaving at 12:30 and hopefully it will be there as scheduled.LAX is a cake walk compared to this airports departure drop off. It is a pretty much a free for all. Park where you want and just drop your stuff off. I did see a police officer meandering through the cars but I am not sure what he was doing. we got into the airport and made our way to the security, if that is what you want to call it. They didn't really check our passports or tickets just kind of waved us through. My husband's family was with us and just by arguing with them a bit my sister in law somehow got all of them through. Next you go through the xray machine. The bags go in and you have to make sure all of them come out. Off to the ticket counter. This was fun. We get up to the counter and have our checked baggages weighed. I think they were about 25 kilos over. I think the charge was 10 durham per kilo. This is where my husband's sister comes in. She is the master haggler. She can talk anyone down on anything. Some how she managed to get the weight down my 15 kilos. I thnk we payed 250 durhams, crazy. Can you imagine arguuing down the cost of your baggage at LAX. It is an art form in itself. I was truly in awe. We had to go to our boarding gate. We said our goodbyes and headed to our gate and waited for our plane.The flight was a little less the three hours.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1018.5kb