A Desert Safari


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
April 10th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ship of the DesertShip of the DesertShip of the Desert

The local transportation
We finally managed to catch up with James in Dubai. It took us a little while to get it together ( which is really stupid when you consider that he is only about 20kms away in Sharajah). However we finally managed to catch up and had a fantastic time in the desert. The safari was amazing. Our driver Mohammed was insane. We would be driving at nearly 100kms across the sand and then we suddenly we'd be flying down a dune and then up another dune, and then sand would be flying all over the windscreen and the car would be drifting sideways down the dune (Mum you would have freaked - we could just imagine you getting out of the car and walking).

There were a couple of moments when I thought he might have lost control but he always seemed to manage to hold it together. After a couple of hours of dune bashing we pulled up to our dinner spot for the evening. The dinner was traditional arabian fare complete with a ballet dancer, sheesha pipes, a falcon and dress up clothes.

Jeremy, James and I dressed the part (see the pics) and I have to
Dune BashingDune BashingDune Bashing

Dune bashing in the desert
say that I could never wear the veil as the women do over here. I could hardly breathe in it.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Jeremy and I Jeremy and I
Jeremy and I

In the desert
CousinsCousins
Cousins

James and I
The localsThe locals
The locals

Aren't we pretty


20th April 2007

Hey there you guys. Oh to be young again!! I think we will have to truck on over before we get TOO OLD! Does 'duning' beat the Harley ride in Queenstown for thrills and spills? Well adopting the 95/5 theory you will be able to spread the reputation of Kiwis far and wide . Good to hear you are having fun. We all think about you. Its James Birthday on 23rd April. Jeremy are you up to baking an Arabian cake? I know Chelle would give him lentil cake. Maybe you will all get together and smoke those fruit bongs, Ramon told me about. What ever ... keep having a '95/5'. Love Gill
27th April 2007

Sand dunes!!!
Unreal looking dunes there chelle!! (I bet you could reeeeeeeally have a good time on a dirt bike there Jero!!)
27th April 2007

Dirka-dirka!
Is the last shot of the Arab version of the Village People or half the cast from "Team America"?
29th April 2007

I think that you will find that we are representing part of the cast from the Family Guy (some of you will know the episode that I am talking about).

Tot: 0.34s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1088s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb