So It All Comes Down To This.......


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
January 8th 2007
Published: January 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So here we are,8 months of saving,working in a no hope job,no social life, all for this, to be back travelling again. I said my farewells which were quite strange when your saying "see you in 2 years" and 6 hours later im in my first port of call Dubai. Strangely I was devoid of emotion In the lead up,my brain feels dead.Wether it was the drinking and no sleep,stress and jetlag leading up to getting there or what I dunno ,but As soon as I landed I expected a wave of emotion and excitement to hit me "FREEDOM!!" but it never happened.
I'd arranged to stay at my friends aunties who despite never really meeting me before treated me like gold. We started off with getting lost!! which was last thing I needed due to my tiredness.I felt guilty cos I could barely put a sentence together. So after a quick show round the city I got dropped Off at Jumiera beach to..go asleep. The Beach was pretty nice ,better than I thought It would be. But I just couldnt connect with it.I kept thinking "whats wrong with me,youve been waiting for this" but I just needed a good sleep.Which didnt happen because I was then going to go on a desert safari. They take you out to the desert in these 4 x 4s and proceed to drive like mad men up and down the dunes making you feel REALLY sick but good fun,that soon woke me up believe me.Scary though at times.Especially with a screaming asian girl down your ear. So after a while of this they take you to a camp in the desert. Theres food,belly dancing,camels etc was pretty cool but felt really cheesy and I wasnt in the best of moods anyway,Add to that NO ONE spoke english...i mean not a word.I was sat on my own like a tool AND it gets quite cold in the desert at night! by the end I just wanted to sleep.But was good fun.
The day after I just had a look round the shopping mall which was pretty cool all man made (like most of Dubai) arabic style with a lagoon in the middle.A quick look around the Burj Al Arab,the 7 start hotel,and i mean 'around' werent gonna let a skemmer in where they.Then had a sit off on the beach again trying to sort my head out and on to the creek and took a boat up and down the river.Good to see both sides of life on each side of the creek.Before going for a meal near the golf club ( i later found out Tiger Woods was about,,,,gutted i could have hunted him down and told him what a knob he is).
All in all i wasnt THAT inpressed with Dubai,but I think you need more time there to really relax there.To me it felt Like half a city almost ...so much building everywhere you turn and the place has NO centre which is wierd.It feels like what it is.A man made place in the heart of the desert,no real 'natural' beauty but thats not to say I didnt enjoy my sleepy 2 days there.Thanks ana!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

That Swanky Ass Hotel.....That Swanky Ass Hotel.....
That Swanky Ass Hotel.....

How do you get 7 stars???
This place was so cool.....This place was so cool.....
This place was so cool.....

Liek a little shopping mall with a lagoon inside!!!


Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb