Thoughts of many a thing...


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
February 16th 2011
Published: February 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Its my 2nd blog of the day, what? I cant help it okay, IM addicted to you ( no im not singing the kelly clarkson song). I just love chatting, and knowing somewhere someone is reading this and I hjave no idea what they're thinking, but I just love the fcat that they reading this.

I am sitting now in my office, which at night is made up of a stunning view of the city, and lake (sea), you can hear the waves and the room my office is based in, has warm, colurs in design, so it really does have quite the affect on you.

I am not to busy tonight, and had a good day, ended up at a staff party after my meeting with my supervisor, there was more food and cake there....not such a good thing, esp since I ended up eating some of it. Why or why does the world do this too me, don't you know to keep yummy stuff away from my stomach, or better yet my eyes, its the eyes that see it and the stomach that has no choice, and then the thighs that end up suffereing. I have made good use of the gym facilities here but, I know I have also been incredibly lazy and no for a fact that if I had these facilities at home, I would be gyming 24/7 I am just being lazy now.

Its okay its starting to show and I know this alone will get me back into the gym, plus I have a few hikes I intened on doing in the next few months and I would love to be in shape for this. Its my birthday next month, I am excited think its the whole, celebration in another country angle that speaks to my mind at the moment. I am planning, a cheese an wine get together on the roof under the stars in the late afternoon evening, and then a small me-cooked-south african style dinner, follwed by my famous lemon meringue or ginger tart, and then a good night out, with friends, maybe hit 3different places, A Loft being one ( love that place, ladies night on tuesday is insane). I havent informed anyone of these plans yet oops, but will give them notice on the 1st of next month. Facebook events really tend to help when it comes to things like this.

Tommorrow is a mates birthday as mentioned in my earlier blog, and I am meant to be joining everyone after work tonight, however cash is tight and I have decided, not to, tommorrow I will wish him and just hope he knows if I could celebrate with him I would, I will be attending the home celebration however.

During orientation last week we were given a lot of information on things that could be done here in the UAE, many I did not know about, nor knew were available. I will def be going to see some of these sights and will do some information searching within the next few days. When opayday comes along I will take myself out somewhere special a small treat ( thats what the point of being here is, travelling). I cannot wait.

I also have heard through a little birdie that my family is intending to get me a small camera for my birthday, I do not wish to spoil the surprise for them, but it would be cheaper for them and me, to buy a camera here and get the money sent to me, as I would get a better camera for the price I am paying as well. So we will see how that venture goes, I ,may just decided to buy it, and maybe they can re-emburisme me?

Okay yes, I know its still almost a month away...but thats not the point, and its not how my brain works anyways, I start obssesing over my birthday generally months before it happens, this year I have not been able to stress much due to other things taking prority, but now, I am all excited and nervous inside:-) I have butterflies as we'd say in south africa.

I cannot wait, I mean for once I will have an outside gathering, lol I have never had something outside on a warm summers night, because it is likely to rain or flies would attack any food present, flies something that I see exteremly few of in this country, so yeah a cheese and wine evening, some sweet red, ( im not a cabernet fan) or a sweet white ( like my chenin blancs). Then of course, some beautiful cheeses, a good blue cheese, and a good, brie and gorganzola, aah, and a good home grown gouda, some cucumber stripes, some carrot sticks and a home made style dip, hmm cant wait.

Then Illl either whip up my home made, Basil Pesto, smoked chicken pasta famous dish, or? or a surpise ( this meaning ill surrpise myself if I cant get all the ingrediants of my chicken dish). This of course served only with a white wine, ( secret to remember white meat-white wine, red meat-red wines, the type my change but stick to your colur rules). So it will either be served with a chenin or a sav, depending.

And after the good food one must serve a good dessert that only compliments the food just eaten and wine consumed. A good desert could be either my lemon meringue, my ginger tart with whipped cream or a good perppermint crisp ( this may be easiest as well). So we will see, and of course pictures by the gallons will be taken and posted.

Does anyone else have any food/birthday/snack/dinner ideas for me? Would love some ideas and feedback?
Has anyone else travelled to the UAE, and in particular the Abu Dhabi area? Any activitie suggestions...besides safari ( have heard this one a hundered times).

I recently read the blog of a student who is currently based in Spain, specifically in Salamanco, from what I have read this place sounds amazing. Reading her blog, things reminded me of reading a Kathy Rechies book and being based somewhere with Temperance Brennan ( may have mixed the two characters up, is brennan the main kathy reiches character or patricia cornwell, or is that the other one? Confused). It sounds like somewhere I would be very much myself and the life style and enviroment would please me mentally. So I have made a note of it, and will be visiting when I am in Spain.

Funny enough I found a small piece of paper in my cupboard before I had left home, it was written by me when I was about 8years old. I had written down all the places in the world I wanted to go, and as the years had passed I had added places through my teen years. I do not know when I stopped adding places but finding it the eve before I left was a very special moment for me. Now here in the UAE I have that piece of paper, and hold it very close to my heart. I have also added the UAE to it and ticked it off, cant wait to start ticking everywhere else off.

Sorry if tonight, my blog is not funny nor interesting, just rather bland, but its how Im feeling right now, so yeah, no excuses. I hope everyone else is having a good night tonight, as I am, even though the office has picked up a bit of steam, I am still happy and cheerful in my own little world. Speaking of which..........THIRTY SECONDS TO MARS is coming to Yas Island on the 11th of March, this Is something I have written down as a birthday treat for myself, oh Jared Leto here I come, ha ha ha ha ha nah Im not a mad fan, I love their music, their style and esp one of their latest videos, I cry everythime I watch it, its just so full of passion, I feel so much when I watch the video, it really does touch me, in a way its an inspiration, a motivation, its amazing. I am sure those of you who have seen this video know exactly which song I am talking about, but at the moment it is not coming to me. Let me see if I can google it, ............................I LOVE GOOGLE.......Its called Closer to the Edge, ( plus theres an amazing shot of Jared and his baby blue eyes, and electric pink hair:-) If you have not seen the video whether you are a fan or not, please go watch it, just let it reel you in.

Anyways I must be off, chat more tommorrow, goodnight my fellow bloggers:-)
Leiah <3

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb