What a wonderful world:-)


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
February 17th 2011
Published: February 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post


Oh what a wonderful world:

I cant remember, was that a stevie wonder song, or was there someone who sung it first? But more to the point, what a wonderful world. I am in such a good mood, heck I even came to work an hour early, this in the eyes of Nietchzie would not be an award winning achievemnent but for me, Im pretty proud lol. Its a beautiful day here in Abu Dhabi today, the sky is clear, the sea is a bluey-greeny-marooney- colour, the sun is out and bright, but not so bright you have to wear shades 24 7 ( which can get a lil annoying). The guests are all smiles and so am I:-) Last night, I got home to discover some washing I had done the night before was actually still a little damp, why I didnt pick up on this then I have no idea. So when I arrived home at 23:00pm, I grabbed my washing basket and headed off to our communal laundry room. Luckily no one was using the machines, and I did a quick rinse ( clothes had already been washed but never dry musty clothes), then they got a nice high temputre drying. I love the smell of tumble dried clothes, I just hate the fact that it uses so much electricity.

Although they say in life, one cannot complain unless one has the solution to the problem, so I will not complain, until I have written my letter of suggestion to our Eco-Department, and suggest washing lines. This would be a simple, eco friendly move hence we have sun like no other place on earth, 24/7 ha ha ha lets use it people.

Yes, Im a little bit of a eco-freak, and Im proud to be. I hate litter and try my best to not let anyone around me litter, and definitely dont myself, what can be recycled also gets recycled. I dont buy more than I need and I never dish up more than I intended to eat, coming from Africa I know for a fact there is some child out there who would have given their left arm for that last spoon of what ever I didnt eat. People think to be world/health/ and eco friendly your entire lifestyle has to change? To be honest parts of it do, but not in the way most people think it does. Its just thinking a little further than one would originally had. If you're walking around with a soda can, and you finish it, dont leave it somewhere on the ground or hidden in the bush, just look up ahead, almost gaurenteed a little further ahead is a dustbin/trashcan/garbage disposal. Its small things like that, that will change this planet, if everyone sticks to it. I know my friends get highly annoyed with me, when they are about to throw something on the ground and I complain to them, or if they do and I see it, and I either suggest they pick it back up or I do myself. Everytime you litter, or do something that harms this planet, animals, life in general, you're not just making the world a worse place for you, but for your kids, your grandkids, people you dont even know. Its the same theroy as drunk driving. I do not refuse to drive drunk because I am worried about endarngering myself, but rather someone else. As the statstics prove, most drunk drivers survive crashes and collisons. Its some one else who was sober and unaware of who they were about to share the road with that gets killed. Some one elses mum, dad, brother, sister, etc.

Anyways, now enough with my pet peeves lol. What do I like doing? Well I obviously like typing, and reading, oh how I love to read. I always have even as a child, I think especially as a child, I would get lost in the world of Rhoal Dahl books. Growing up in the home I did reading was an escape from reality, it also taught me alot, so I am glad I was given the education, which enabled me to be able to read. I love authors like, Kathy Rechiis, Patricia Cornwell, Jonothan Killerman, Ian Rankin, Dean R Koontz, John Grishom, David Balladcci, Ruth Rendell, and so on and so fourth. I also like ready informative books like, things by the philospher Nietchzie, but it takes me awhile, as I dont always like what he says ha ha ha. I love dancing as well. I danced proffesionally for 13 years. I did Ballet, Modern, Hip Hop and Tap. I enjoyed the Modern and Hip Hop most but often find myself, playing with my feet in a balletic way when waiting in a que or similiar instances. I still dance, but not for anyone anymore, now its for myself, a mix between, breakdance-hiphop-freestyle- and just going wild lol. That is my main reason to go out clubbing if I do go clubbing. Not much of a drinker anymore, although I do enjoy experimenting and exploring wines. I love a good wine, Im not a Cabernet fan. I prefer, Rose's or a good light red, and Chenin Blanc's opposed to Sav Blancs. I enjoy, roller-blading, ice skating, rugby ( playing and watching it), soccer ( football), and cricket. I love watching the X games, as I do wish to try snowboarding some time soon...( obviosuly not here in the desert). I would also like to go, cage shark diving, and of course I enjoy my hiking. I am generally an adventurous spirit, and exteremly spontaneous, I never plan my biggest adventures lol. I just let life provide the opportunity when its the right time.

We had a satff meeting yesterday, my first since I have been with this company, and what an amazing meeting it was. Awards were handed out, and jokes were made and told. People were honoured appreciated and welcomed, food was provided, and not just some food from the kitchen, real gourmet dishes with stunning desserts. You really are encouraged and made to feel welcome here, and I love the way we interact with each other its inspiring. I know that this brand and all the branches all over the world, have the same form of work dedication and cannot wait for my transfer in one, year to experiance the same but different kind of atmosphere some where else. I have not yet decided where I wish to transfer to? And where in the world Id like to be based, but we do have a branch in Spain, and I am very eager to see Salcamanca, after reading a blog by someone on travel yesterday, but we shall see. I am also obssesed with motors. Back home in South Africa every spare minute I had, I would spend working under the hood of an engine, be it 4wheels or 2, I love my cars and bikes, ( of course top gear is my fav programme). I also enjoy drag racing. So now you must know, by being based in Abu Dhabi I am in motor heaven. The Yas Marina Circuit is so close to my work that when I wait for my transportation at night home, you can hear the engines, of the racers not 5 mins walk away from you. Its insane! Here in Abu Dhabi every second car you see, especially at night is a Ferrari. During the day, you cant even keep track of the Mustang Gts, the SLR AMG's, the Chevs, the Nissan GTR's, the Maserati's, The Porsches'...its insane. ha ha ha ha Im so happy.

What else is news? not much for now anyways, but I will prob write up to three blog entries today, the happier I am the more I think, the more I talk, the more I write:-) The more you read:-) he he he



Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb