Snowy pools and hot water


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean
May 23rd 2013
Published: May 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

If you know me at all, you know I fall in love with every country I visit. Turkey is no exception! This place has impressed, wowed, and awed me more than any other country (other than India perhaps). I was a tad apprehensive coming into a muslim country, and right after reading about the bombings near the Syria border, but I have never felt more safe! Truly, I would recommend this country probably above any of the other countries I have been on this trip so far (and that is saying a lot!).

So before I get all carried away, let me tell you a couple of my experiences, and you can be the judge 😊

Instanbul...what a city! Everywhere you look is a mosque and there is more history to bore a historian. Well, perhaps not, but for example, Hagia Sophia....one of the largest, most famous churches in the world. It was interesting walking in, because about 400 years ago, it was taken over by Islam religion (used to be christian). So, you walk in and see influence of Islam (Arab writing of Muhammads prophets names), then a massive mosaic of Jesus and the Virgin Mary. The church ceiling was too high up and the work too extensive for the muslims to change it. It is now simply a money grab and an empty building for people to walk in and get a sore neck by looking around. Truly one of the most beautiful buildings that used to be a place of worship that I have seen.

Istanbul is the perfect blend of Asia and Europe. It is neat, because you can stand on the river, and look across and see asia (or europe, depending what side you are on 😊. Oh and before I forget, let me tell you about the Grand Bazaar. Wikipedia says that it is 30 km large...now imagine 400,000 people per day doing their shopping and trading and sellers hawking at helpless tourists who are bound to drop some money. This area alone is a city in itself. Pretty cool experience, and if a shop owner does manage to snag you into hıs little stall, you are charmed by turkish tea and shown how every color/pattern of textile/ceramic is so unique! Mind you, Lindsay and I both left there with a raging head ache...it is a tad overwhelming!

We also got the chance to go watch a basketball game there. It was not very packed, and they had more security guards than actual fans I believe. It was still a decent game because some of the players are on the national Turkey team. Who would have thought I would have watched a basketball game in turkey?!

So, after 5 hectic days, we hop on a nightbus and go south to Izmir. On a side note, we have been couch surfing basically this whole time. Wow, that is the best way to travel if you really want to see a country and meet the locals (which ıs the best part of seeing a new country anyhow). So, this couch host was really an organizer and got 7 of us from all over the world on a day trip to see Ephasus. Something so special about walking through a city where you know some of the disciples lived and preached and seeing thousand year old buildıngs.

Ok, so next city we went is called Pamukkale (we have been racing through this country like mad men, because there is SO much to see and 3 weeks here is just not enough time). Now, I have been blessed to see a lot in my life, but never have I seen something quite like this. Imagine a huge rock cavern...got it? K, now picture it snow white. Oh and now throw in 365 liters (per second) of natural hot spring water rushing down and through it. This is Pamukkale! You can start walking up the cliffs and it is so white, after a few minutes, your eyes hurt (ıf you arent rocking cheapo sun glasses). I have no idea how this works, maybe it ıs from the hot sprıngs but the white stuff is calcium buildup and has formed pools upon pools, and the water is ice blue...and hot!! Such a trick on my mind because it would seem the water should be cold.

Neatest part is the ancient city on the top of the mountain above the springs. I have been experiencing a bit of historical ruin overload lately, but those ones were really impressive! This city was where Phillip (one of the disciples) started a church. Wow, one of the most amazing moments was walking up to the church, which shockingly, the majority is still standing, and boom getting goose bumps. It was so neat, because thıs church was off the path a ways, and not many tourists go there (especially after spending hours swimming and exploring the hot springs), so Lindsay and I were the only ones there. Just walking up the hill and standing in the centre, such an overwhelmıng presence of God was there, made me cry. And Im not much of a cryer 😊 Anyhow, just really neat to be in a place where Gods blessing was on, and has never left.

Alrighty, and now we are in a city called Fethiya on the sea. I could write another 5 pages just on this place, but my feet are getting eaten alive by a nasty mosquito, and im on a turkish key board which taken me twice as long to type on.. so basically, turkey is far surpasing any of my expectations. And if you really want to be convinced, just try some Turkish delight! holy moly, ıs that stuff ever good! Its gotta be the real stuff though, or else gross.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb