Yesilkoy district, Istanbul.


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul » Sultanahmet
July 7th 2013
Published: July 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My little Turkish SultanMy little Turkish SultanMy little Turkish Sultan

My little Turkish Sultan
Sun 7th July 2013

Yesilkoy district, Istanbul.

Morning involved a short walk around the beach not far from the hotel. I saw the natives using a wood fired water boiler to make their tea. I thought 'this can be very useful to me on my journey'. The only problem is I don't know where to buy the piece of equipment.

Breakfast - I went to a local pastry shop that made some delicious food for breakfast. It looked very fattening, but I don't care. I had a portion of that delicious pastry, lots and lots of 'Ayran', a salty yoghourt drink and some lemonade.

I made a second attempt at visiting the 'Sultanahmet'. This time, I set the SatNat on my mobile phone for the mosque. It worked better than I thought, it guided me to the Blue Mosque without any problem.

Sultanahmet - What a superb architectural building built by who else but the Sultan named 'Ahmet' many hundreds of years ago (1609 - 1616). The Sultan Ahmed Mosque has one main dome, six minarets, and eight secondary domes. The design is the culmination of two centuries of both Ottoman mosque and Byzantine church development.
Me beside the beachMe beside the beachMe beside the beach

Me beside the beach


Anyway, I took lots of pictures for all my bog readers to have a look at the 'Blue Mosque'.

I saw this little boy dressed up as the little "Sultan', so I asked his parents if I can take a photograph with him.

Next to the 'Blue Mosque' was a traditional Turkish 'Bazaar', selling lots of Turkish carpets, ceramics and jewellery.

On the home, the Turks were all converged onto the local park next to the seaside. All along the road, I can see the smoke from the barbecue and the smell of kebabs.

After 2 days in Istanbul, I can't get rid of this thirst I have been having. There is no other option, I had to buy a watermelon and eat it all by myself to quench this thirst. So, if I die from watermelon poisoning then you would know I overdose myself on the stuff.

The waiter at the hotel chatted to me about my trip and wanted to see the 'Jeep'. So I showed the car to him. He said in very good English "Does it have air-conditioning?". I said "No". He was clearly surprised. He was probably thinking 'What a stupid man. Traveling in hot countries without any air-condition. He will probably die from the desert heat, I must do something to help him.' He asked me "How long are you staying in Istanbul?', I said "not long". He said "I know this Mercedes dealer, they can add air-conditioning to your car, it will take 2 or 3 days and cost about €500'. Now there is an offer I can't refuse. Having spent the past few days inside the car with the heating on full blast just to stop the car from overheating, it was an offer I can't refuse'.

No wonder I have this constant thirst. I must have been de-hydrated because I had the heating on full blast during the past few days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 99, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

My Turkish friends and their tea making equipmentMy Turkish friends and their tea making equipment
My Turkish friends and their tea making equipment

My Turkish friends and their tea making equipment
G wagon on the seasideG wagon on the seaside
G wagon on the seaside

G wagon on the seaside
MarinaMarina
Marina

Marina
Local churchLocal church
Local church

Local church
Wooden house or wood cladded houseWooden house or wood cladded house
Wooden house or wood cladded house

Wooden house or wood cladded house
My breakfastMy breakfast
My breakfast

My breakfast - already drunk the Turkish tea
Blue Mosque - outsideBlue Mosque - outside
Blue Mosque - outside

Blue Mosque - outside
My little Turkish SultanMy little Turkish Sultan
My little Turkish Sultan

My little Turkish Sultan
My Turkish friend feeds me againMy Turkish friend feeds me again
My Turkish friend feeds me again

My Turkish friend feeds me again


Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb