Burgas in Bulgaria to Istanbul in Turkey


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul » Sultanahmet
July 6th 2013
Published: July 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My Turkish friend cooked my dinner in Istanbul My Turkish friend cooked my dinner in Istanbul My Turkish friend cooked my dinner in Istanbul

My Turkish friend cooked my dinner in Istanbul
Sat 6 July 2013
Burgas in Bulgaria to Istanbul in Turkey

Driving from Burgas to Istanbul involved driving on more pot holed roads. The roads were so bad, the car nearly lost its other 'eye'. It fell off while climbing those steep mountains in Bulgaria, but luckily it got trapped between the car and the bumper. I discovered the problem when I stopped the vehicle to allow the vehicle to cool down.

Luckily, I brought tools and some spare washers, and I managed to re-attach the 'eye' back on to the car. The Bulgarians are nice people. One driver stopped and asked if I needed help.

Getting out of Bulgaria at the border crossing was easy, just checked the vignette and passport, etc and I was out of Bulgaria.

Getting into Turkey was a more difficult experience. First, it was a custom check, followed by passport check and then I entered a building to find that there were more red tape waiting for me. First, there was the 'visa'. Did I need a visa to enter Turkey? I had a argument with the official and finally, I gave in and paid €15. Then I need to get
Cooling down in TurkeyCooling down in TurkeyCooling down in Turkey

Cooling down in Turkey
a 'Green Card' for the vehicle and that cost another €70. Then there was the 'Baggage Control'. 'Open the door!' asked the official, so I did and he knocked on one of my Jerry Can and asked "What is inside?", I said water and he said "open it!". He had a sniff and said "ah, water", okay.

Finally cleared the border crossing and the first thing I noticed was how good the roads were in Turkey. The road was nice and smooth and it took me a while to get used to this new road in Turkey.

Got to a town called 'Kirklereli' and stopped for fuel. The petrol attendant had a laugh at my handmade wooden fuel cap. Further down the road, the car over heated again so I stopped at a petrol station.

With Istanbul still hundreds of kilometres away, I pushed on for Istanbul.

By 6pm, I arrived at Istanbul and wanted to visit the famous 'Sultanahmet'. I parked the car and made way to the nearest Kebab shop. Feeling tired, hungary and very thirsty, I got fed and watered and rested a while. Spent the next few hours looking for a campsite
shop in Instanbulshop in Instanbulshop in Instanbul

shop in Instanbul
but it got dark, so I opted to stay at the 'Hotel Airport Inn' in the Yesilkoy district of Istanbul.

In Yesilkoy, I found a good ice cream shop and stopped for an ice cream, and tea. Still can't get rid of that feeling of thirst.

Advertisement



7th September 2013

car
Thanks for your great information, the contents are quiet interesting.I will be waiting for your next post. new car deal uk
11th September 2013

hi
Thanks for your great information, the contents are quiet interesting.I will be waiting for your next post.new car deal uk

Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb