Canakkale


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Canakkale
June 5th 2012
Published: June 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Left Istanbul early in the morning on a bus for Canakkale. Turkey doesn't have a very well organized train system, but their buses are superb, and really are the only way to get around. Also, you really get to see the countryside, which is absolutely beautiful by the way: a lot of really green rolling hills, small towns, flowers in bloom everywhere, and randomly an evergreen forest as we went over a small mountain pass (it reminded me of home). Then we had to take a ferry over the Dardanelles to get to Canakkale, where I'll be for the next 3 nights.

Canakkale is a beautiful town right on the Dardanelles, and really is one of the last Turkish towns before you hit Greece and the Aegean Sea. I love it because it's absolutely surrounded by history. Nearly every major army literally in the history of the world, if they wanted to attack either Europe or Asia, had to cross between continents right here. This is where Alexander the Great crossed over to attack the Persians! Even in WWI, this is where the Battle of Gallipoli happened. And Ancient Troy is only about 20 minutes away. Wow!

Anyway, this is exciting for me at least because I love history. Also, on a different note, tonight in Canakkale I found a Turkish version of Aldous Huxley's Brave New World (which I'm partially writing my dissertation on). I already have a French, German, and Italian version. Being a book nerd, I'm pumped up.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



5th June 2012

So glad you are doing this!
Hey Matthew! I finally joined and just read about all you've done so far. I am SO jealous, by the way! It is all so beautiful and full of history. I don't know if I will be able to read your blogs once you get to Greece, it will hurt my heart that I can't be there! Enjoy dude! Linds

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb