Topkapi Palace


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul » Sultanahmet
June 4th 2012
Published: June 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Last day in Istanbul today. Went to Topkapi Palace, which was the absolutely massive home of the Ottoman Sultans. It's actually the largest palace in the world! I went through the famous Harem, where the Sultan lived with his concubines and eunuchs. Then basically just wandered around. Mostly it's just a very beautiful place in a very beautiful setting... it sits on top of a mountain that looks out over the Bosphorus.

It was hotter today and I had a long lunch before wandering around Istanbul. My goal was the Mosque of Suleyman the Magnificient, and on the way I went through the Egyptian Spice Bazaar. What a smell! They had every imaginable spice, nut, fruit, you name it, right out on the street. It was fun to just walk around and see what people were selling. Then finally hiked up to the Mosque, which is perhaps the most beautiful in Istanbul. I got there during prayers, so I waited in the courtyard (and took a nap). Had to take my shoes off again, but it was worth it.

Then just relaxed and had a long dinner. Very tired because of the walking and the heat. I've seen what I wanted to see... now it's time to get out of Istanbul.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Courtyard of Suleyman MosqueCourtyard of Suleyman Mosque
Courtyard of Suleyman Mosque

Not a bad place to take a nap.


4th June 2012

Topkapi
Wonderful pictures -great landscapes and looks like fantabulous weather. Look forward to more travelogues and have a great rest of the trip

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb