Safranbolu onto Ankara


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Central Anatolia » Ankara
September 21st 2008
Published: September 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

SafranboluSafranboluSafranbolu

Some of village
HI all,
Today is Sunday and I am now in Ankara. I got here late last nite, about 10p after a long bus ride from Safranbolu. I will tell you about Safranbolu first since I didn't have access to internet there. Its a very old town, with many restored buildings that are hundreds of yrs old, I guess most of them about 200, Much older than anything in OHIO. Anyways, its a fascinating village and they have a market on Saturday which I got to visit. And shop at! Lots of produce with tomatoes, corn, peppers, cucumbers, olives, spices, squash, melons, beans, rice, shoes, clothing, souvenirs and just junk. Lots of Turkish peole doing their marketing for the produce too. Of course I had to buy a few things. I had lunch at a tiny place where 2 women fixed my meal in front of me with Manti, a type of noodle with bits of meat inside boiled then topped with a tomato sauce and yogurt. Kinda like ravioli only much smaller noodles. Very good. The eater adds the sauce and yogurt. YUMMY! Had halva and locum for dessert. Took a narrated tour in a golf cart around the town. Very hilly and all cobblestone streets. Went thru another restored home being used as a hotel, very nice. The young lady who showed me around spoke very good English. She took a pict of me on the lounger that I will try to post. Loved the decorating! Its alll Ottoman style.
I met a couple from Wales on the bus trip there, long trip took 7 hours. I did have the entire row of 2seats to myself for the trip. Very glad I had my ipod. they have a tv and showed movies and tv shows, all in Turkish of course. All the announcements were in Turkish. They have an attendant on the bus who brings water, tea or colas around and also will clean up. He spoke a little English so would make sure I knew what was said. He was a young cutie, probably 19 or 20. They serve the drive drinks too and make sure all the passengers are on the bus when leaving the rest stops. Rest stops are about every 2hrs, unless its just after sunset when they stop as soon as possible so the Muslims who are fasting for Ramadan can eat. They had a religious show on most of the evening, I could tell because I have heard the call to prayer many times now. Its kinda haunting, makes you want to say a little prayer no matter who you would pray too. So maybe its a really good idea? Of course the driving in Turkey is enough to make anyone say a prayer! Streets that are so narrow that one car can barely get thru are not one way, they force each other to back up and pull over somewhere so one can get thru. Very different. They also don't pay a lot of attention to lane markings.LOts of horn useage! You take your life in your hand crossing the streets. The bus ride was great for seeing a lot of countryside, but i forgot to get my map out of my case before leaving so had a little trouble telling where we were. I did retrace the route later so see what we had passed thru. ITs a very hilly/mountainous country. Didn't see any wildlife, a few cows and some sheep and goats. Many large home, where the whole family, generations of them, live. Very poor looking in many place with satelite tv everywhere.
Well, I am going to try to post some picts of Safranbolu and then go to the museum here. Its been a great trip so far!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



21st September 2008

Safranbolu comments
I am very jealous! Sounds fantastic. Did you see my boss :)
22nd September 2008

Glad to hear from you. We we're all worried at work when you didn't post for so long! Everything sounds beautiful.
22nd September 2008

Sounds fun
Looks like you are having a great time! I love the golf cart tour- what a great idea! Everything looks like I imagined it would! Have fun.
23rd September 2008

Camel Ride
Are you going to ride a camel - I did - it was fun - if you can stand the flies.
24th September 2008

I think I would be too chicken to do this..lol..but it sounds so adventurous!!!!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb