First day very late in trip!!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
September 17th 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

TurkeyTurkeyTurkey

Chicken in Turkey
HI to all and thanks for all the good luck wishes. Must have worked, made it with no problems and all my luggage! Only problem was getting online. Unable last nite and earlier today.
OK, yesterday I arrived at Attaturk airport at a little after 1p here...more like 5am at home. I had slept a little on the plane but not enough. I was able to change my seat after we took off, didn't want to sleep with a strange man. (he was sitting next to me at first). oved to long row that was almost empty. I was met at the airport by a driver with my name on a board. and taken to my hotel. He first took me to the wrong hotel, owned by same company but more expensive and very nice lobbey. Then another driver took me to my hotel, As soon as I got there, I realized I hade forgotten my camera in the car. They had to go after him to get thim. ugh! but i did get it back in a short time. I showered, then went for a wlalk around the neighborhood and found a small place to sit and get dinner.
Topkapi PalaceTopkapi PalaceTopkapi Palace

got the wrong pict last time...
The owner flirted with me, but only harmlessly. he was married. Found an atm and got some money.Then went to hotel and went to bed. Woke up at 1 and thougth it was mornig. But it wasn't so I went back to sleep. Today I got up at 7am and went to breakfast, its buffet style. They had olives, cucumbers, tomatoes, and cheese and lunch meat. I had eggs and some of the bread and a slice of meat.
I can't stay away, will do more later!! Need a nap before I go to dinner.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

TurkeyTurkey
Turkey

Palace-Harem-black eunuchs
TurkeyTurkey
Turkey

Palace-Harem-black eunuchs


17th September 2008

Pictue mixup
I messed up on both picts, had trouble telling which one I was uploading. But the cat is one I fed and the people are outside the Palace.
23rd September 2008

Great trip!
Hi Diane -- thanks for all the information about Turkey and the great photos. Looks like you're getting around pretty effortlessly. I'll look forward to hearing about the beaches and snorkeling.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb