May 15th Salkikent


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Fethiye
May 15th 2015
Published: May 15th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The meal last night was lovely & we sat by the river. We both had trout, not caught in the river as it's too full of silt, but from a trout farm around the valley somewhere. Fresh not frozen. Trout, mixed salad & fresh chips - £4. A bottle of wine – I didn't ask...

In most places in Greece & Turkey, you are sometimes woken by barking dogs, but not here. It wasn't a dawn chorus – more of an eclectic mix of : peacocks, guinea fowl, partridge, cockerels, hens, ducks, cows & donkeys, all but the last two wandering around the site.

We were going to move on to Kas (Kaaash) today but Cathy has an upset stomach so we stayed put. I got up, had my shower & decided to have my breakfast in the outdoor restaurant. He recommended the 'full' breakfast...blimey. It consisted of...fried egg (a duck egg as one of the ducks had lain the day before), tomato, cucumber, goats cheese, ano local cheese, a cheese 'pancake', olives, honey, jam, a peanut & sesame paste, a whole loaf of bread, butter, unlimited coffee & nearly forgot...fresh chips! £4.50

Then I went up the gorge – or at least to the end of the walkway. Beautiful. It's a shame that the river is in flood as you can normally wade up the river with a guide. The walls are so high it gave me the wobbles looking up – it's normally looking down..

Came back, made Cathy a drink then lazed on one of the lounging areas – a raised platform with a low table, raffia rug & thin mattresses & pillows - & wrote the blog. There's mellow chill out music being played quietly & coupled with the sound of the river & the odd peacock it makes you feel quite drowsy; maybe inner peace reaching out?



A odd sight, a low loader dropped off an earth mover which they then drove down a 1 in 2 gradient into the river! Two chaps then proceeded to clear enormous boulders out of the river that had been dumped by the flooding river last week – this I guess to make it safer for the rafters although we haven't seen any on this stretch whilst we've been here.



A young woman wandered over to ask me some questions – for a moment I thought she was Serbian or something as she as broad a Glaswegian as I've ever heard! Anyway, we chatted for half an hour & I showed her the map as, though she had her tablet it doesn't help with the scale of the place. Odd girl though & a hypnotherapist back home. Whilst Cathy has been in bed, I've read a book – a whole book. Yasin (proper spelling this time) has been over to offer food but I'm still stuffed from breakfast





I suppose I'd best send this & make a plan for tomorrow...


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb