Fethiye


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Fethiye
May 29th 2010
Published: June 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I took a 6 hour bus ride through some of the most rugged, yet lush, terrain I've ever seen and arrived in Fethiye in the early afternoon. Fethiye is a lovely small seaside city set in a sheltered bay. After arriving at my hostel (V-Go Guesthouse), I promptly befriended the hostel's manager (Orhan) and their chef (Ramazan) and spent the day relaxing barside with them and a few other travellers over some beers and tasty eats...

I spent some time in Fethiye wandering through the town. After seeing a ancient 600 person and some rock tombs, I decided I needed to beat the heat and sit down on the side of the street to have a beer with a local. He turned out to be the dirtiest old man I have met (naturally I liked him instantly) and he taught me all sorts of dirty Turkish phrases! With the essentials of Turkish now learned, I hit the town some more and visited some ancient tombs carved into the nearby cliffs. Dinner this evening was spent with a few other travellers in Fethiye's fresh fish market, where you pick your very fresh fish and then bring it to the resaturant to get it cooked up for you! And of course drinks followed on one of V-Go's beautiful gulets (sailboats)!

The next day, me and a couple other Albertans hiked along a portion of the Lycian Way to the small ghost town of Karakoy. After getting mildy lost in the Turkish wilderness, we managed to find Karakoy and wandered around hundreds of ruined rock-walled buildings that were abadoned in ~1915 when the Turks and Greeks orchastrated a massive population exchange. The sky was overcast which added to the very eerie ambiance in the village. Later we grabbed more fresh fish and seafood in the fish market before testing out Fethiye's nightlife.

From Fethiye, I decided to ditch my traditional mode of transport (bus) and hit the seas for a 4 day / 3 night "Blue Cruise" on a Turkish gulet south to the small backpacker's chillout place known as Olympos.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb