Guest blog!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Bodrum
July 22nd 2007
Published: October 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 37.0391, 27.4302

Hello. I'm Bridget's friend Lucy and I'm visiting them in Bodrum for a week. I arrived last night via layovers in Rome and Istanbul. My biggest activity since I arrived has been trying to find my luggage, which Alitalia decided was so appealing that they wanted to hang on to it for a little longer. I hope they are enjoying it as much as I would be if it were here with me. This has resulted in many very interesting vignettes in the past 12 hours, including trying to navigate the phone system with its many different mating calls. I'm still not entirely sure I am fluent in the different beeps and tones you can get when you call people (and we have been calling many, many people in search of my luggage), but I have learned what the busy signal sounds like. I have also learned that the Internet is A Very Good Thing. Second priority was to get enough clothes so I can immediately enjoy the beautiful surroundings and sea, so I now have a very skimpy one-piece bathing suit, a Turkish t-shirt with assorted comments about sailing, and a pair of what I think are actually swimming trunks but make not unflattering nylon/polyester shorts with adjustable drawstring waist. I have now also acquired my umpteenth pair of flip flops, which look like the old Dr. Scholl's sandals. Bridget and the kids are quickly acclimating me. I have a feeling this week is going to pass very quickly.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb