Star Shaped Patterns in the Sand


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria
July 30th 2009
Published: December 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I bet you are thinking
1) what was the last post about (It's written in the style of Paul's route to Damascus, but an alternative story)
2) This one is about geography

Okay, so since Lebanon I have...

Gone to Krak des Chevalliers - the biggest and best Crusader Fortress, stunning
Then on to Damascus, where I have visted to extensive souks, sneeked into a Mosque and slept on a roof (as is common in Syria), a beautiful old town.

Did a day and night trip to Palmyra where i watched sunrise over the ruins from another roof! Then befriended a few Bedouins and got a free camal ride and invited to one of their houses for tea and melon, which was delightful. All is very nice here and practically deserted except for the oasis, ba-dum-chi!

I had to do a U-e back to Damascus (to shed a little company) and hitched it all the way with a very friendly Petroleum engineer. He bought me more tea.

So a little change of plan is now in order...

Tartus - Latakia - Aleppo - Turkey - Armenia

I have been made aware that Lebanon doesn't sound that great! If this is the impression you're getting sorry, i'm just trying to stay brief. The Lebanese people are the nicest people in the world I have meet to date. Their hospitality and generosity far exceed anywhere in Europe. The Syrians are a close second. In both countries I have never felt so welcome. I think that if I walked the streets at night looking lost someone would simply offer me their home. I have had offers of beds from alot of people, without motive. Also the sights are so beautiful and there is such a great history here there simply cannot be enough time to visit it all.

Next post will be when I get to Turkey I reckon, so speak to you all then.

Tim

Advertisement



Tot: 0.332s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 103; dbt: 0.1172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb