Omayad Mosque


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » South » Damascus
May 8th 2008
Published: May 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last night I went to the famous Beit Al Jabrin which is located in the back streets of Damascus. It was just Matt and I as Pascale has gone up to Palymra now. The food was okay but came in massive portions which considering the price is reasonable - the meal cost 380 SYP around 4 pounds!

This morning I woke up late again!!! After Breakfast went to omayad mosque which was very peaceful in comparison to the rest of Damascus. I donned a fetching robe which made me look so stylish and wandered around for a bit - sat down to take some pictures when Mohamed asked if he could talk to me. We ended up having a really interesting conversation about the differences between the 'east' and west and religion - turns out he was an iman so I felt very cultured!

Left to go get some lunch whereupon I stumbled across some random old man who took me to various places which was funny my own personal guide for 50 p - only problem was he didnt speak English and as I don't speak Arabic it was interesting miming! I will go back to the Azem palace as I can't describe how stunning the rooms inside are - the wood is all painted and it is just gorgeous.

Walked down to straight street which is all under construction so a bit bland and lifeless in comparison to other areas before deciding that lunch would be a good idea - as it was 5:00 by this time the thought of eating a shwarma or other such item filled me with dread I decided the perfect thing would be an ice cream from Bakdesh. It was massive and yummy and so cheap and ooh I shall be going there lots!!

Anyhow I shall soon be returning to the hotel to see what is going on as Matt has left for Jordan I shall have to find a new supper companion!

Advertisement



21st May 2008

please explain what all the wierd foods actually are camie! x

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb