Museums and Chai!


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » South » Damascus
May 7th 2008
Published: May 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last night after writing this I went back to the hotel and eventually decided to go for supper! Went out with Matt (English) and Pascale (Canadian) to a restaurant that had a good review in the lonely planet. Walked for a bit through the souq which was pretty hectic and eventually found the 'Old City' in one of the back alleys. Shared some Mezze which were all yummy and then had lamb chops with various veges - having walked through the fruit and veg market on my first day I was suprised at how tasteless it all was! We did get a chuckle out of the menu when we saw frogs legs as a starter!!

Walking back I consoled myself with an ice cream which was yummy - the Syrians seem to love ice cream judging by the number of people I see walking around eating them! Got back to the hotel and met the third lady in our dorm who is also German and slightly older.

Couldnt believe it when this morning everyone got up and I was told it was 11!! Breakfast was okay bread and jam but far superior to the likes of Jebel Shams and Musandam!! Anyhow found out that I can stay in the room for the rest of the week so I am spared the roof for the time being!!

Went to the National Museum which was fascinating and I can now say I have seen the first alphabet - a pity I couldnt read it! There were some stunning mosaics and amazingly kept statues! I sat in the gardens for a drink and couldnt believe it when a water and diet coke cost me 150 sp - I will not be going back there however peaceful it was!! I did learn 1-10 in Arabic during this time so I felt very proud of myself!!

Went back to the hotel before heading out to the Souq for some lunch I eventually found a Shwarma stand by the Ummayad Mosque which I devoured with relish! Walking through the souq I met Mohamed who made me go to his shop for some Chai and chat - his brother lives in Liverpool!! I have now had my first cup of tea which wasn't bad actually and I had it black with one scoop of sugar!! I finally escaped promising to call him at some point - such a shame my mobile doesnt work here!

And now I am writing this listening to the local mosque go off!



Advertisement



21st May 2008

what's 150sp in sterling?
22nd May 2008

Roughly 1 pound 50! 1 Syrian pound = 1 English pence

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb