To pastures new


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » South » Damascus
May 10th 2008
Published: May 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So following the last entry I returned to the hotel where I met Peter he had just arrived in Damascus and was here for only one day. Went out for supper close by the hotel and whilst it was really quite nice it was a bit bland - rice with chicken that looked pretty unappatizing for 125 SYP though you can't complain.

Met up with Peter as I went into the hotel and as he hadn't eaten I accompanied him much to my annoyance though as he found a restaurant which appeared to be serving the yummiest barbequed meat as I drank my water I felt quiet envious of him!!!

Friday morning I woke with my first bout of food poisoning not to fun and after Breakfast I had to move rooms - this time I'm overlooking the streets. Older German lady has left but Connie is still around and I am with two French girls one who is a teacher in Abu Dhabi but I decided to head out to the Christian Quarter as everywhere else was shut. Returned for a longer look at the Azem palace which is fantastic and for 10 SYP you can't complain. I finally decided it was time to make a move and down straight street I went - it is all being dug up at the moment and so whilst it was pretty cool walking down a street that has been mentioned in the bible and all it was a pretty unimpressive sight!

Found the chapel of Anissauis (spelling) without any difficulty and went in unfortunately I arrived at the same time a tour group did but I went in the opposite direction to them so was able to spend time reading about it all. I then decided that having seen this and read all about St. Paul's Damascene moment it would be silly to not go to his chapel. This was much harder to find and luckily I found 4 Germans in the choir who were also lost. We eventually found it and whilst the external building was very old and so on the inside was pretty charmless it was also tiny and this is apparantly where a 115 strong German choir and orchestra are to stage a 3 hour opera!!!

Returned back to the hotel and chatted to people downstairs before deciding enough was enough and bed was probably a good idea.

Today I woke up earlyish and had breakfast then set of for immigration to extend my visa - I apparantly need a letter from the hotel to say I am staying there which will be interesting as I leave tomorrow! So I shall return another day avec a letter and hope for the best!

I decided to indulge my inner train spotter and went to the Hejaz train station it was pretty unremarkable but at least I can say I saw it should I ever meet an avid train spotter! Walking to the old city I decided to go for one last wander where I bumped into Pauline (one of the French room mates) and we decided to go to the Hamman - this was easier said then done as each time we asked for directions we were told turn right then left and voila - it then changed to in 200 metres you will be there!! We finally found it and well what can I say we were greeted by a lady who was lounging on a high chair who informed us it would be 300 SYP so we agreed and stripped to our undies. From here we went to the steam room and I realised that modesty wasnt an option in here as the other ladies in there were starkers!! Got dragged off to have my hair washed before I returned to the room and Pauline had her hair washed. On my return I was greeted with one of the ladies standing on the chair - stark bollock naked holding a bowl over her pubes - I didnt know where to look!!

Finally I was taken to be rubbed down lieing on the floor I was rubbed from all angles with a vigour that was suprising - mind you my scrubber was massive!! I then rewashed my hair before returning for a massage that was vigourous if nothing else!

Anyhow tomorrow I go to the monastry at Mar Musa before going to Hama so it is bye bye Damascus for a short while.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb