Leaving Doha in Style


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
August 6th 2015
Published: August 21st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Shower after 10 hours of flyingShower after 10 hours of flyingShower after 10 hours of flying

It was only five minutes but it felt great!
On my flight from Budapest, I asked for an upgrade at check-in. The agent told me there were no upgrades available, but another agent was standing next to her and he saw my California driver's license and apparently he had lived in Venice for a few years. Then he asked where I was flying to and I told him; he had lived in Doha for another three years. So we chatted amiably until I was set to go. I experienced yet again what I am trying to explain about the customer service here. I sat at a bar with a menu for about 10 minutes, closed it and waited. Three different waiters looked at me and not one came to me; finally I asked one guy if I could order food here and he said yes and walked away. I was livid. And thirsty. I found a shop and got an iced tea instead.

Anyway, so I was not in the best of moods when I boarded my plane; happily with my silver status, I was able to sit right away and I fell asleep before everyone else finished boarding. Soon, the CA/Doha agent guy shook me awake and told
Boarding the A380Boarding the A380Boarding the A380

I don't have to mingle with the peons on the lower deck...
me my new seat was 3A. Yes! The pilot announced around this time that we were slightly delayed due to a computer glitch regarding the passenger manifest. So, I enjoyed the rest of my flight back to Doha.

I got in around 3am and took a stoic taxi driver to my friend's villa to stay for the week. I packed up my stuff, trying to fit everything into three large suitcases and two small carry-ons. I did some small errands and even found myself back at the office a couple of times. Due to the fact that I don't plan to get a job before the end of the year, my boss wants to keep me available so we renewed my residency. That usually takes a few days and up to a few weeks, so I changed my flight from Monday to Thursday. Wouldn't you know, after all that, I got my visa sunday night!

Now, here is the fun part. I spent all day Sunday rebooking my flight, talking to a nice lady named Mina at Emirates who actually was very helpful. Unfortunately, there were no economy seats left to either NYC or DC for the next
Closed door suiteClosed door suiteClosed door suite

(with Jaws in the background)
few weeks, and I was second guessing my cancellation. But she was able to get me a business seat for half price, basically just a little more than economy. Ok. Fine. Hope it's worth it.

Once I got to Dubai, I enjoyed my last taste of business class for a while. I went to the gate when I was supposed to board my flight and the agent said it was delayed and to come back in 15 minutes. I sat nearby and watched a movie. Twelve minutes later, a lady agent came up and asked if I was going to NYC and I needed to hurry to the gate. Ugh. So I got there and the guy handed my ticket to someone else and asked her to "take care of it." Now what? Oh, I've been upgraded to First Class? On the A380? On a 13 hour flight??? I could not stop smiling and thanking them. Yeah, I'm cool.

So, I found my "cabin" and asked where I could put my bags. Oh, they go into my suite with me in the corner. I had my own beverage bar, a bag with slippers and pajamas, comfy pillows and
AppetizerAppetizerAppetizer

Yummy cold shrimp and lobster with fennel salad
blanket, toiletries bag, and a glass of champagne. Heaven! Later the attendant came to me and asked when I wanted to schedule my shower. Ha! All food on the menu is a la carte and to just buzz them whenever I wanted to eat, however many times. Man, I am spoiled.

I decided to eat soon after takeoff so I could sleep well. For my appetizer, I ordered cold shrimp and lobster with a fennel salad. I told the attendant it was delicious and it really was soooo good. Then I got sea bass with mushrooms for dinner. Also delish. For my drink, I had a cabernet sauvignon from Napa. I watched a few movies, closed my little pod to the world, looked out the windows as we flew over the fjords of Norway, changed into my jammies and was sound asleep when the attendant woke me for my scheduled shower. I almost told her I changed my mind, but when else would I ever do this, right? So, I planned to take all my stuff and change but decided to just get the shower and come back. You have five minutes and there is a little countdown figure on the wall telling you how much time is left. It stops when there is only 30 seconds just in case. I didn't wash my hair or anything, just stood there and washed the travel off of me. I have to say, it was amazing and as one of the items on my bucket list, I pretty much smiled up until we landed in New York. So, just enjoy the pictures and be jealous.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



21st August 2015

I'm definitely jealous!!
What a way to finish your time overseas. So would you consider another job abroad? Where is next after relaxing for the rest of this year?
21st August 2015

I miss it already
I definitely love living abroad and I am looking for my next adventure. Fortunately, I do love the company I've worked for over the last 11 years and I have some good contacts, so I may check in with them on occasion to see what opportunities there are. Also, I am open for anything else. It is very strange to not work. I will be in the DC area for the next six weeks and then…. not entirely sure. I would like to go to South America before the end of the year, but we will see….

Tot: 0.529s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 39; qc: 152; dbt: 0.2561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb