Qatar National Day


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
December 19th 2012
Published: December 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We got Tuesday, December 18th off of work as everyone celebrated Qatar's National Day. They had been preparing for WEEKS - flags all over the country, bleachers lining the corniche, cars decked out in national colors... But Tuesday definitely took the cake.

I slept in and rolled out of bed to go to work for a little while; we had a big report due on Thursday and I just work better when it's quiet. I got a lot accomplished and worked a solid, uninterrupted four straight hours until I left. I was afraid of the traffic because while it was a smooth ride IN to the office, I knew heading back was going to be a nightmare. My hotel is located in New Doha and right near the corniche. Sure enough, as I approached, the road to my hotel was closed and we were all forced to go right, meaning I had to drive in a big circle and I drove further out than probably necessary just to avoid having the same thing happen. So, my ride home took me almost two hours.

The time flew by though! Everyone was so excited and happy. For once, the beeps were of good cheer! People were riding standing through their sunroofs, kids had on Qatari jerseys, people were wearing hats and scarves with Qatar on it, waving flags, some playing music, and most incredible were the fully decorated cars! (See photos) Man, I thought the US had patriotism!

There were lots of roadside stands selling all kinds of paraphenalia, so I bought a few scarves. Unfortunately, I thought the two indian guys that sold me the scarves were going to start hitting each other - they were fighting over who got the money and asked me who I meant it for. I meant for them to split, which I told them and even gave them small bills to make it easy, but then said "you figure it out." Sigh... always drama.

Sadly, I have been working so hard this week, I was too exhausted to go and enjoy the festivities. I did see the fireworks from my window... sorta. Definitely could hear them! And it made me wish I had gone - the fireworks show went on for a good ten minutes and what little I could see looked spectacular. Oh well - next year!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



20th December 2012

Wow
I guess people here just don't decorate their cars for 4th of July. But imagine if they did. With all they hillbillies there'd be a ton of crazy cars distracting people from driving safely.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb