Qatar - Day 5


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
October 27th 2012
Published: October 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I went back to City Center Mall last night; taxis here are ridiculously expensive and most do not have meters. Make sure you know how much you're paying before you leave! I didn't want to drive myself because I'm still a little nervous about the traffic; judging by the traffic at the souk at night, I didn't even want to deal with it.

When I arrived, it was significantly different than earlier. It was packed! I don't do well in crowds, and I could the grouch coming. I decided to check out the movies and picked Pitch Perfect; I had seen previews during the day and it looked entertaining. It was, though I really am not one for unnecessary vulgar humor. The worst part, was the people talking incessantly during the movie. It was worse than Dubai! People literally answering their phones and talking just like they're out at a park, or at home or whatever. Passing the phone to the person next to them and them talking loudly. With no concern whatsoever for the people in the theater. And the thing is, you cannot tell the ushers because they will be the ones in trouble. I seriously almost got up to ask for my money back and if it was a movie that I really wanted to watch, I would have. So, I've made a pact with myself to only go to almost empty morning shows.

After the movie, I went to Carrefours for some supplies: a water boiler, movies, and some snacks.

I slept sooooo good last night and woke late this morning - I love my heavy curtains!!! I made myself get up, shower and head to Villaggio, the mall that is supposed to be nice. I was a little nervous about driving, but the traffic was fairly light and I found my way on the first try. It was pretty easy. The mall, thankfully, was significantly better! Very nice, with a little canal running through where you could get a gondola ride. It's hard to believe there was a fire here that killed 19 people in May, most of them children.. Shiver...

Anyway, I wound up just going back to another theater, paying for the new James Bond movie, but instead going to see End of Watch, which was blessedly empty but for a few quiet people. The movie was ok, a little strange. But I liked the shots of LA - it made me a little homesick...

I was able to easily get back home as well, so maybe the driving here won't be too bad... though I dread rush hour!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



27th October 2012

That mall is ridiculous!
Reminds me of something straight out of Vegas...like the forum shops or something. Thanks for sharing those photos. Hope all is well, pookie! We continue to miss you.

Tot: 0.678s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 39; qc: 172; dbt: 0.3771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb