A wonder of the World and Answers to Questions!


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » South » Petra
May 5th 2011
Published: May 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

TimnaTimnaTimna

Mushroom Rock
Today, I went to Petra. - one of the seven wonders of the world. Petra is in Jordan. We had to cross the border to go there. We got a new stamp on our passports. We took a bus to get to the site of Petra. From the bus window, we got to see a lot of the Jordan countryside and the people. When in Petra, we first rode horses and then hiked the rest of the way. Petra has unusual colored sand and rock formations. Some of the sand there is golden and some is red. We saw rocks that looked like fish and elephants. We also saw the Treasury, which is a burial tomb for a king. People once thought the Treasury was filled with gold, but it really wasn't. The Treasury is almost 150 feet tall. It is carved entirely out of solid rock. Petra is filled with caves that are unusually and beautifully colored. Our tour guide was very nice and showed us all around. We learned that Petra was the starting place for the spice route. Back in Israel, we went to the 6,000 year old copper mines of Timna. There were ancient Egyptian hieroglyphics on
TimnaTimnaTimna

Taking oictures of the drawings carvved into the stone walls
some of the walls. We also went on a glass bottom boat on the Red Sea. From the boat, we saw lots of jelly fish and the coral reef up close. In Tel Aviv, we saw the musical Fiddler on the Roof in Hebrew. The choreography and singing were amazing! It felt like I was really there in the shtetl with the characters. They had a live orchestra that played beautiful music throughout the performance. The play Fiddler on the Roof is about Jewish traditions in 1905 Russia. It centers around Tevye, a father with 5 daughters and a wife. They struggle with the same family problems many other people have like love, moving, and religion.
Answers to questions: Dear Cathy A – you are right...it is difficult to get off of the camel...you have to lean back a certain way! Then, the camel bends down and gets on the ground. I wasn't scared, though. The camel I had was so kind. Her name meant love and she was very loving. To my class – It was fun being in the water bubble! It would be great if everyone in our class could be in bubbles together one day!
TimnaTimnaTimna

Egyptian drawing of a chariot
I am glad that Senor has all of those crickets to eat. As you can see from this blog, I did get to go to another country – Jordan! I am back in Israel now. The play my Dad directed was performed in English. It was done in Tel Aviv and now it is also going to be performed in Haifa in June (in the north of Israel). Two of the plays I have seen have been in English (South Pacific and the play my Dad directed). All of the other plays have been in Hebrew...in some cases there have been Super Titles in English above the stage. I miss all of you so much and can't wait to see you! I am going to try to Skype. My mom is going to try to set that up! Take care everyone!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

TimnaTimna
Timna

The copper mines
Going to JordanGoing to Jordan
Going to Jordan

No Man's Land
Bedouin TentBedouin Tent
Bedouin Tent

In Jordan
PetraPetra
Petra

Going through the canyon to get to the once lost city
Funny RockFunny Rock
Funny Rock

and a fish from the side.
Funny rockFunny rock
Funny rock

It looks like an elehpant from the front...
The TreasuryThe Treasury
The Treasury

And then it appears!
PetraPetra
Petra

Roman style theatre
PetraPetra
Petra

Burial cave


12th May 2011

Petra
Petra means rock in Greek. Did they tell you that? The first pope was Peter or Petros. And Jesus said, "Upon this rock, I will build my church." I have Petra high on my list of places I want to visit. Have looked up trips there several times. I am so jealous. So far, all I have are your wonderful pictures.
13th May 2011

Amazing!
Dear Abby, I am so envious of all of the amazing adventures you are having! It must have been thrilling to visit one of the seven wonders of the world. Your photos of Petra helped me to really feel as if I was a visitor as well. The rock formations really did resemble animals. I especially thought the burial ground rocks were stunning, the colorful layers were like a work of art. Were they marble? I remember when I first saw Fiddler on the Roof at the movie theater. I LOVED IT! I used to get all of my cousins to take on the roles of the characters so we could act it out. You are right the themes in this story are timeless and universal. I would have loved to have heard it performed in Hebrew. It must have been so moving! Thank you for your blogs, they are so informative and the photos bring your experiences to life for your friends. You are going to treasure the memories of this trip and your travel journal forever. xoxo Mrs. Bousquet

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb