Jordan


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » South » Petra
March 4th 2010
Published: March 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well the tour-part is almost over and I haven't even mentioned this leg of the journey . Actually Jordan is my 26th country !

Aqaba is a quiet little town that was pleasant after the hustle and bustle of Egypt . I am not sure why we spent 24 hours there but the ability to decompress was nice...to bad my hotel room had a funny odor . It reinforced that feeling of depression hotels leave me with ...Oh well ...we moved on to the Desert and Wadi Rum where there are really no odors .

WOW a mountain desert of many colours is a thing to behold ... at sunset or any time of the day .

We stayed in a Bedouin Camp .Sleeping was quite basic with a long tent divided into rooms with blankets /wall hanging things and each with beds and warm blankets . I am glad I had my silk bag as sheets are not a big thing in this part of the world. There was an indoor corridor lit with kerosene lamps .Cozy.

The gathering tent where we ate ,drank tea , and visited by a fire was kind of fun . It did have some electricity . The toilet had running water even a shower if you were up for a COLD dribble to wake you in the morning.

We arrived @ 4 and shortly after set out on our trusty camels for a ride further into the desert to watch the sunset. It was a rip off actually . Things are expensive in Jordan , probably twice as much as Egypt , our prices I guess and a 15 minute ride to stand around for 30 minutes and pay @$30 Canadian was too much . It is good that the sunset on the rocks was beautiful .

When the sun went down the desert cold moved in fast and by the time we returned to the camp we were all really cold . I don't think we were prepared for that . My trusty LLBean silk underwear came in real handy . Supper also helped . Bedouin BBQ is a meal done in 3 layers in a drum lowered into a pit of coals and covered in sand . It included lamb ,potatoes ,eggplant ,rice , chicken (it seems there is always a chicken) and a salad of tomatoes and cucumbers. Very good...and very filling .

The next morning after our b'fast (typically a hard boiled egg ,tomatoes ,cucumbers ,bread ,pita ,halvah ,coffee or tea and apple juice) we set off in Jeep 4x4 's to explore more of Wadi Rum . It was great . The mountains are magnificent ...a bit scary because there is nothing there that is very familiar ... and have been eroded in intriguing ways. I am going to have to read about Lawrence of Arabia as we saw many places and spaces connected to him.

At noon we left and continued on our way to Petra.

PETRA ...WOW...When we arrived in the area we drove around the top of the valley so my first glimpse was from the top down ...a good thing for it put the whole area into some perspective for me . It covers a greaat deal of space but thaat shouldn't surprise as as many as 50,000 people may have lived there . The civilization was the Nabateans who I had never heard of. That afternoon we then walked through Litlle Petra the home of the workers. It was good to do that as well since it gave me a good idea of what to expect...right...

We were on our way at 8 the next morning and the walk into the site was about 1 1/2 miles .Our guide set us up really well by drawing from one side of the Siq to the other explaining this and that. Roman ,Greek inscriptions ,carcings ...and suddenly through a fairly narrow fissure there was the Treasury bathed in sunshine and all it's glory. It is deserving of it's status as one of the new wonders of the world. The entire site is awesome and worth seeing. We were able to spend @8 hours there and I can understand how climbers can spend days...
On my return to the Visitors Center ( a walk of 90 minutes on a gentle incline the whole way) I was surprised at how different the Treasury looked without the sun...I almost didn't recognize it!

A great experience in all .

Today we have been driving withh brief photo stops of 2 crusader castles. I wish we could have stopped but it was not to be . We did however make it to the Dead Sea and soaked and mudded ourselves accordingly . I was fun and a nice way to relax with the group This is actually the last night together as some will be flying out of Amman tomorrow night at midnight.

I have enjoyed their company for the most part but I am very ready to slow down the pace of this journey .

Hope all is well . Keep in touch !







Advertisement



4th March 2010

Where to next?
Interesting journey. 26 countries! Wow! Where do you go next? Did you find anyone who you will travel with or meet later to share time with? Have fun on your own. Would you ever take another guided tour like that again? The Bedouin camp sounds interesting. Take care. R&C
4th March 2010

Silk Bags & Undies
Hurrah for warm clothes, I am sure LLBean loves you Pam. I need to sit with a map so I can keep up and look forward to hearing more. It is great being part of a group and I hope you can stay in touch with some them but slowing down the pace with be good too. All is well here.
4th March 2010

in touch
I've really been enjoying your blogs, and travelling vicariously with you!!! Actually, Philip recently looked up Wadi on Google as part of a religion project about Abraham. Don't know about Wadi Rum though. How does it compare with Jamaican rum? Just kidding! It's obviously a place? A river bank or bed maybe?? We are all quite well, though there's a bad cold/flu going through our house as well as Wayne and Jodean's. Gemma is most stricken with it right now having a chesty cough, fever and upset stomach off and on over the past week. Jodean's daughter has had pain in a lung due to a mucous clog (or plug?) that has caused one chamber of a lung to collapse. Not good, but she is getting antibiotics and physio to help her recover and is even going to school. Hopefully Gemma doesn't develop any complications. I am watching her closely, and she's in mellow but good spirits. Both Philip and Peter received Christian Action Awards at school today. I'm not sure why they specifically were chosen, but am proud of them all the same. We couldn't make it as Gemma is ill. Can't believe it's so springy already. The Sedum is growing and I wonder if it even stopped (it's quite sheltered). We have plenty of wet mud, but no tulips yet. I keep meaning to walk over to our nearest pussy willow to see if it's blooming, but haven't had the time. I think I'll send some of the kids after school today... How about those Olympics. Were you able to follow some of the games? We totally enjoyed catching up at the end of every day and watching many of the events on CTV. Go farmer vision!!!! Ta ta for now and God bless you as you travel about. Love, Stephanie
5th March 2010

Journey through Jordan
It sounds like a marvelous place to be. I am really enjoying your travelblog. Tanya
5th March 2010

Rock on!
We are both doing rocks this week. I am in Thunder Bay and have been researching the geology of the area. The land we know as Ontario was first formed about 3 billion years ago. The Canadian Shield, which we studied in school a long, long time ago is stunningly beautiful. I know more about rocks and minerals and their formation and metamorphosis now than I ever planned. Life is a never-ending learning process. I'm enjoying your blogs and get a nice visual image from your descriptions. Check out "The Seven Pillars of Wisdom" if you want to know more about T. E. Lawrence and his story. After being where you have been I'm sure you would enjoy it. What are your plans after the formal part of the tour is over? Have fun and don't step in any camel dung. Brian
6th March 2010

Ah, the downside of a tour group - you can't spend time where & when you want to. You are at the leader's mercy. Oh well, now you can be the leader! Do enjoy the next week and take care . . .
9th March 2010

What an amazing adventure Pam!!!
Hi Pam! Maureen Here!!! Sounds like you are ready for your OWN time now! Enjoy!!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb