Three Whole Days


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
July 3rd 2007
Published: July 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Some of the groupSome of the groupSome of the group

The man at the front is the orgainizer here, Bashar.
Hey all!
I am currently sitting in the computer lab at the New York Institute of Technology. Not in New York though... the "posh" school here in Amman must be a branch... I've yet to figure that out. This uni will be the basis for our presentations here in Amman. Five other University students are scheduled to bring around 50 students each day here.
My flight was very good considering how long it was. I met up with three of my friends in Istanbul and we all arrived together in Amman Airport at 2am. Customs was smooth and all my luggage made it safely. Above the customs desks was a large sign announcing the presence of the "Tourist Police" in both Arabic and English. We met up immediatly with Bashar who is our organizer here in Jordan. He is a 24 year old who is very involved with NGO's here and has been the main man in getting this all together. We were stuffed into a car and driven to our hotel. Yes, hotel. The hostel I had been expecting had fallen through last minute and they took the next thing they found which ended up being a
Planning the presentationsPlanning the presentationsPlanning the presentations

This is in the lobby of our hotel.
very nice hotel. I have my own double bed and share a small room with Kathryn from England. The air conditioning is nice but we all were hoping for a cheaper place to save money. Fortunatly, our financial situation seems to be working out very well and I have only had to pay, thus far, for my visa into the country.
My group of four were pretty much the first to arrive so we got to sleep in to 11am. Thank goodness... I was/am still exhausted. Later that day the rest of the group arrived. It was so nice to see everyone again.
Most meals they bring us food in the hotel because it is cheaper but last night we walked, through many gawking stares, down the road to a small sketchy looking cafe. The food was very good though. Hummous and pita and falafel.
I've got to go now but hopefully I'll have time for pictures later.

Much Love,
Malia

PS I really like getting all your comments!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

A typical mealA typical meal
A typical meal

This was in the cafe i mentioned.
A common view of AmmanA common view of Amman
A common view of Amman

all the buildings are this beige color. it makesthe city look very interesting.


3rd July 2007

You are Lucky
Dear Malia, Namaste. It was so nice to read your message and when I read all, I feel like I was there. It gives very good idea to the general people and all. Best wishes and Good Luck. Madhab
3rd July 2007

I miss you!
Malia!!! We are both far away from our familiar home of Taos. I am writing you from London at this very moment. I enjoyed reading your blog and am excited to hear more about your adventure... I'm not sure if I am going to get a chance to see you before I head off to college... maybe in august if you are going to be around. Anyway, I miss you and I hope that you are having an amazing time. I hope you'll send a postcard.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb