A hebrew salsa lesson. (No comprendo)


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
October 2nd 2013
Published: October 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Happy Wednesday everyone 😊

Lastnights adventures truly were a cultural experience, a Hebrew salsa dancing lesson. My friend Reuven is a salsa instructor here in Israel, so he took me out for a night of salsa lessons/dancing! We went to a salsa club in Tel Aviv, not far from Dizengoff (my street). I went with Reuven and a friend of his, who is one of his salsa students. The salsa lessons were divided into different sections (from beginning to advanced). I ofcourse, and Reuven agreed, that I start at beginners. Reuven told the instructor "English please!" at the beginning of the salsa lesson but this did not last through out the whole lesson. Gratefully, I had Reuven translating for me some of the lesson, but this did not make me an advanced salsa dancer! Despite the fact that I couldn't understand the lesson, I still had a wonderful time! My particular beginners salsa group was made up of 12 dancers. We learned step by step instructions, and I identified myself as a visual learner for this because I could not understand! As a teacher, I also enjoyed have the perspective of a lesson in a different language because now I can see how challenging it is for students who English is not their native tounge. Of course I do not teach salsa lessons back home, but you guys get the idea 😉

After the lessons, there was a salsa party! Reuven said GO SARAH GO make this your home! Soo.....I did as was told and danced all around the salsa area with a variety of different dancers (Some good, some...needed practice.) I find that it's best to dance with a strong partner in salsa because they are able to guide you (the man is supposed to be the leader). Luckily we were able to switch partners every song! I loved it, and look forward to more salsa in Israel while I am here!

This afternoon I will hop on a train to Kiryat-Ata. This is in the northern part of Israel (near Haifa for those of you who know the land.) I am going there to stay with a host family (Back home I babysit for an Israeli family, and her parents live here in Israel, so she has connected me with her parents.) I will be there for the night until tomorrow afternoon. I have never been to Kiryat-Ata, let alone taken a train ride in Israel. So this will all be a first time adventure for me. I'm off to buy a train ticket to Kiryat-Ata. Luckily, I have voice recorded Reuven saying "Kiryat-Ata" to make sure I get off at the right train station...wish me luck friends 😉

Peace and sababa,

Ms. Sarah


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



2nd October 2013
db0b6c22c5d21053c647ba0ac6864f85

Hi love your picture of salsa dancing Sarah looks like fun

Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb