ramblings from Tel Aviv


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
February 11th 2007
Published: February 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, I have been sick. It has been most unfortunate, especially at the end of my program. Thankfully, I am FINALLY starting to get better (thank you antibiotics!). So, with all this free time of lying in bed, although most of it, I was too lethargic to be able to do anything, I've had lots of time to think about lots of random junk, and I thought, hey, its time for some anecdotes and political commentary maybe.

I'm not sure how many of you were aware, but a couple weeks ago, there was a suicide bombing in Eilat, in Israel. Eilat, is the southern most tip of Israel, and is known purely as a resort town, and major tourist destination for Europeans. I only happened to hear about it when I was at one of the "daycares" I visit every week, and the babysitter just leaves the tv on any random channel, rather than picking a children's show. So, the news happened to be on, and there it was, saying that there had been a suicide bombing. I asked her immediately, did you know about this?? But she was as surprised as I was. It has been something like 10 months since there was a suicide bombing in Israel, and the very first time there was one in Eilat. Whats the significance? Well really, I'm not sure, but there doesn't seem to be a big one. Where as, during the height of the intifada and all the suicide bombings a few years ago, everyone would call pretty much everybody they knew, to make sure all were ok. Everyone would talk about it, etc. Well, this bombing in Eilat was almost completely ignored. I didn't really know why at first. It seems that the mental disconnection between Eilat, and the rest of Israel is pretty strong. Only a tiny tiny percentage of people live in Eilat year round, and otherwise, its just tourists, whether Israeli or from abroad. So, there just wasn't the same panic or concern. Not that people weren't concerned or scared, etc, but it just didn't carry the same magnitude. And it also seemed, that the Palestinian group that carried out the attack was hoping to get some major recognition, and also to stop the infighting between Palestinians in Gaza, but it didn't seem to accomplish either.

Which leads me to this new Hamas and Fatah unity government. First of all, I'm surprised they were actually able to form this document in the first place. Second of all, I will be very surprised if it actually works, for the Palestinians, if they can keep the peace, and work with each other. Third, I have no idea how this will hurt or help the peace process (or lack there of) with Israel, either in favor of Israel, or in favor of the Palestinians. But if there is one thing I know, is that the Palestinian factions and governments are not good at holding to promises and political agreements, even their own. So we'll see what happens.

Oh, I also had several people ask me what was going on with Israel's president a few weeks ago. Well, Israel's president Katsav is a wannabee Bill Clinton. Except that the girls that Katsav liked, didn't like him back and are suing him for sexual harrasment or rape, I forget. I guess they dont' go for the middle aged men like Monica Lewinsky did. haha. Oh, and the difference between Clinton and Katsav, other than the fact that Lewinsky went willingly, is that Katsav is one butt ugly man. Clinton at least was a handsome, charming older man, but Katsav? Um NO. This whole thing actually started back in the summer, in July and August, so its almost old news in Israel. The rest of the world was so obsessed with the war, that they didn't pay attention to the sex scandal! So, Katsav was officially indited, about a month ago, which is when the news went international, and pretty much all the major Israeli politicians were calling for his resignation, but he refused. Instead, he asked for a temporary leave of absence, which he was granted. There are also several other political scandals going on, kind of a combination between Clinton and Nixon scandals, although I'm not sure to the same scale, but there are many going on right now, for the last several months actually. Its actually kind of disappointing, that some Israeli politicians have become so corrupt, that they are now no better than American politicians. That makes me sad. It didn't used to be like this in Israeli politics. At least not to this scale.

I've had lots of fun with the medical system here in Israel the last couple weeks. I went to the Dr 4 times, and got both head and chest xrays, as well as blood tests. The only cool part was that I got to see my skull! At home, I love to watch all those cop shows, law and order, csi, etc, and sometimes when they find a skull, the try to reconstruct the face to get an idea of what the person had looked like. So it made me wonder, if I would look the same if they put clay on my skull too. Haha. Ok, a weird thougth I know, but it was a long week, and like I said, I had a lot of time on my hands. Also, on one of my visits, I had a fun encounter with this elderly woman. At the doctor I went to, you make an appointment, and then when you show up at your assigned time, there is a list of everyone with appointments that day, and a number, to put you in order. This helps Israelis maintain order, because they are not good at waiting in lines. So, I had been to the doctor so many times, that he told me to just come, and I didn't need to make an appointment. So I'm sitting in the lobby, waiting, and I'm next, and then this older woman comes in, and asks me what number I am. I tell her I'm next, but she still wants to know my number. I told her I don't have one, but I'm next, and she does not like this. She says if you don't have a number, you can't see the doctor. I said yes, I can, because he told me I can. We went back and forth for a few minutes, in hebrew of course. Well, I won. And I got to see the doctor next. I was very amused. When I'm really tired or sick, I normally think that my hebrew isn't as good, but its actually just fine. its good to know.

I needed to go to the post office a couple weeks ago, and the only time I had to go was between my 2 internships, and the only post office in the area was in the central bus station, which I thought was very convenient. Except, its the central bus station, and it was packed of people, and I had to wait for a good half hour just to buy a stamp and some envelopes! The post office close to my apartment is almost always empty because its not in a busy location, so its very nice for me. Also, another annoying thing about the mail in Israel. They don't have stamp machines, and you can't buy them at the supermarket. And, outgoing mail can not be sent from your own home mailbox. You have to drop it at a public mailbox, or at the post office itself. And it took me forever to find a place with a copy machine I could use! I missed Kinkos or Mailboxes. hehe.

Well, that is all I can think of at the moment. I"m saving some work annecdotes for when I finally finish my internship at the end of next week!! yay!! (feb 21).

Bye all! Much love! Oh, and Happy Valentines Day.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1106s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb