I swear I would make a great Birthright guide


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel
January 21st 2007
Published: February 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

greeting my mom at the airportgreeting my mom at the airportgreeting my mom at the airport

Hugs, Tears, and wow, I love your haircut!
Hello All! Its just another day here in Israel. It rained. Actually, it poured. While the sun was shining. And last night, I think it hailed. Ok, this is totally NOT typical in Israel. Rain is very rare, although this is certainly the season. But sun storms and hail? Just give me snow already!

Luckily, the entire last week that my mom was here, we had perfect weather. It was relatively warm, it was sunny, and most importantly, it didn't rain. Because, like when it snows in DC, in Israel when it rains, people freak out.

By the way... did you catch that? My MOM was in ISRAEL. She was here for just a week, and we really had a great time. She arrived at the airport on friday afternoon, and I met her there with 2 of my cousins. The airport has this perfect "Arrival" waiting area where everyone stands around waiting for whoever to come out of the magical doors. I was very anxious waiting and waiting. You know those scenes the cheesy love movies where someone is waiting for someone at the airport, and they finally see each other after such a long time, and they
me and mom at the wallme and mom at the wallme and mom at the wall

the Kotel... unchanged since 73 AD. hehe. or something like that.
run to each other and hug and cry?? Well yeah... it was kinda like that, hehe. 😊

So, we spent Shabbat at my cousins house in Rishon, had a really nice dinner and rested. I took my mom on a short walk around the city of Rishon, the new city center and the historical area. On Saturday, we went to the beach and walked around, and found some group of people doing Israeli dancing, which my mom loved. Saturday night, some of my other cousins came over, and then we went to their house in Tel Aviv, which is like 5 minutes from my apartment. We stayed with these cousins in Tel Aviv, cuz it is the center of town, and there were 2 extra beds, so much more comfortable than my couch for a week! After a light dinner, we walked around the city, to Dizengoff, and most importantly, my apartment!

We pretty much did all the major tourist sites, and all the major historical sites in both Tel Aviv and Jerusalem, and then I showed my mom all the cool places to hang out, where I go on a regular basis, and generally what my daily
mom and artist frank meislermom and artist frank meislermom and artist frank meisler

Frank Meisler and one of his famous sculpters. He also just did a special piece of the Kindertransports, that is in Liverpool, England
life in Israel consists of. I also showed her areas that typical Israelis go, that you wouldn't go on a typical tour in Israel. Through out my tour for her, I was able to show her how all the past and present of Israel, and this land is all connected, and always right in front of your face. Like when we were walking in Rishon (where my cousins live), I told her that this land used to be completely nothing, thousands of years ago. The original town was founded here in the 1880s, and was the first modern jewish town built in the land of Israel. As we walked through this historical area, and I then showed her where there had been a suicide bomb a few years ago, but the whole area had been rebuilt like you would never have known. Today, there is a plaque to memorializee the people who died on the spot.

So I think she got a pretty good idea of Israel, and I think with all my knowledge, I would be an awesome birthright tour guide! What do you think? Now my mom has been to Israel once before, in 1971. Quite a long time ago! The country has changed a lot since then. The towns are bigger, more developed into real cities, there are towns that didn't exist, and just everything has grown and grown and it is really quite a modern country. The lifestyle here is just great, and my mom saw this.

I'm not going to give every detail on everything we did, because most of the stuff I've talked about before. However, it was a totally different experience taking my mom these places. To see things through another person's eyes gives you a fresh perspective. And it reminded me over and over again why I love Israel.

One night we went to Jaffa, which is the old Arab neighborhood next to Tel Aviv. It is south of modern Tel Aviv, and is an ancient city, something like 3000-4000 years old. We got to a few art galleries which are in the old city. The first one, is a famous metal sculpter, Frank Meisler. My mom knew about him, as the artist that she is, and was very excited to go into the gallery and find that the artist was there! So of course, my mom started talking
me and mom in accome and mom in accome and mom in acco

in a courtyard in acco, downstairs for horses, upstairs for lodgers.
to him, and he gave us a tour of his workshop in the back. It was very interesting to see how he did his work, and the many many stages it took to make the sculpters. After we chatted with him for a while, I took a picture of my mom with the artist, and we were on our way. The next gallery we stopped in was a great painter. We both loved his work, and so I spent the next couple hours trying to convince my mom to buy a painting, which finally, she did! Since it took her forever to decide not only to buy a painting, but which one, we spent a lot of time talking to this artist as well. He was really nice, and was originally from Greece, which really peaked my interest, because Greece is my number one next travel destination and I am dying to go!! So we talked about Israel, about Greece, his paintings, etc, and had a nice time, until my mom finally made the decision. He also suggested a great little cafe hidden in the flea market in Jaffa, so we made our way there afterwards. The cafe was so
sunset leaving accosunset leaving accosunset leaving acco

because the trip wouldn't be complete without an amazing mediterranean sunset :)
cute and unlike any other I've been to, in terms of style and design and furniture. I will definitely go back there, as I love Jaffa anyway, and the cafe will be a great excuse to go!

On Thursday, my mom's last day here, we went to Acco, which is in the north, on the Mediterranean coast, just above Haifa. Acco is an ancient city, back around 3000 something years. It is also a mixed Arab and Jewish city, although it seems today it is majority Arab. We took the train up, which I always love, and walked from the new city to the old city. There is a huge citadel or walled fort area, as well as two huge city walls surrounding this area and in between where a moat used to flow. We walked around all the old city area, saw the citadel, the underground halls, the Turkish baths, the synagogue, the mosques, the tunnels, everything. These ruins in Acco were mostly Turkish/Ottoman Empire time, and Crusaders period, so definitely a mix of style of architechture. They just kept building on top of each other, and differernt empires would conquer it over and over and over again. Even Napoleon made it here in 1799, when he held the city for 2 months until he was kicked out too. During the 1800s was Acco's glory period, where it was the main sea port, and the city was thriving and the current controlling empire was building up the city. However, now it is no longer used as a port, but just a local fishing port and it is not doing so great anymore. Still, it is a beautiful and special city, with history on every corner, as most of Israel has. This I think added a completely different touch to my Mom's trip as well, because Israel is much more than just Tel Aviv and Jerusalem, although they are certainly the focal point. And as a special treat, on the train ride home, we had the most gorgeous bright sunset over the Mediterranean sea.

My mom left early early Friday morning, we left for the airport at 2am. Saying goodbye was sad and like another scene right out of a movie. I got home at 4:30am and went straight to sleep until 3pm. yay sleep!

Ok, so I started writing this blog entry like two weeks ago, but I have been so busy that I haven't had time to post it and finish it!

So since then, I had a nice shabbat in my apartment, and then proceeded to get sick. My roommate, who I also work with, got sick at the same time, so we spent most of the week together in the apartment, entertaining each other so we didn't go crazy. Nothing really eventful has happened the last couple weeks. I am busy figuring out what I want to do after my program ends at the end of February. Time flies sooooo fast. I am also applying to a grad school for social work, which would involve being in the US and in Israel for part of my degree! More to come about all this, when decisions are made. I know you are all curious, but I don't want to say anything until I'm sure. But suggestions are definitely welcome!

I have three weeks left of work, and then a trip the last week with my program. It will be a very busy and fast month! Ok, thats it for now!

Love you all.

I am behind on my birthday shoutouts.

Happy Birthday to Chris Huska!
Happy Birthday to Laura Conrad!
Happy Birthday to Julie Weinrach!
Happy Birthday to Adam Perl!

Bye!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb