Who do you say that I am?


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » North District
September 18th 2015
Published: September 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Dear Self,
Don’t be in such a hurry to find the Garden of Eden; if you are always looking forward, you may just miss the Garden all around you.
Sincerely,
Me

In the national park surrounding the ancient city of Dan, there is an area called the Garden of Eden. As I saw the sign for the Garden of Eden, I continued walking along the path that I thought led to the Garden of Eden. When I reached the end of the path, I realized the first sign was indicating that I was entering the Garden. This little walk around the Garden was a reminder to myself that sometimes I am too focused on what lies ahead and forget to appreciate the blessings of the present moment.



We also had the opportunity to visit Caesarea Philippi, the setting of the conversation between Jesus and his disciples depicted in Matthew’s Gospel when he asked them, “Who do you say that I am” (Matt 16:15)? This is a good question for each of us to ponder as if the Risen Christ is asking us today, “Who do you say that I am?” Possible answers may
Israelite Gate Israelite Gate Israelite Gate

Built at the time of King Solomon or later Israelite king
include: Lord, Savior, Shepherd, Friend, Prophet, Holy Man from long ago, God Incarnate and many, many more. Does our answer matter? Absolutely, it matters; it matters because in order for us to be in relationship with Jesus (with anyone), we have to know who they are, what they mean to us and what we mean to them. So, just as Jesus asked Peter and the disciples roughly 2,000 years ago, today he asks each of us, “Who do you say that I am?”


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

High Place at DanHigh Place at Dan
High Place at Dan

A cultic site was established here by King Jeroboam after the northern kingdom separated from the southern kingdom in the 10th century BC (1 Kings 12).
Traditional Location of "Who do you say I am?" conversationTraditional Location of "Who do you say I am?" conversation
Traditional Location of "Who do you say I am?" conversation

"Upon this rock [in Ceaserea Philippi], I will build my church." (Matt 16:18)
Synagogue (Caeserea Philippi) Synagogue (Caeserea Philippi)
Synagogue (Caeserea Philippi)

Is that Indiana Jones?
Five levels of Settlement in this picture (Caeserea Philippi)Five levels of Settlement in this picture (Caeserea Philippi)
Five levels of Settlement in this picture (Caeserea Philippi)

Foreground (Roman-Byzantine) Wall Parallel to Building (Crusader) Lowest Level of Building (Islamic) Middle Level of Building (Ottoman) Top Level of Building (Modern Syrian)
Peak of Mt. Hebron in the DistancePeak of Mt. Hebron in the Distance
Peak of Mt. Hebron in the Distance

"How god and how pleasant it is, when brothers dwell together as one! Like fine oil on the head, running down upon the beard, Upon the beard of Aaron, upon the collar of his robe. Like dew of Hermon coming down upon the mountains of Zion. There the Lord has decreed a blessing, life for evermore!" (Psalm 133)


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb