FAI is open, first 5 weeks


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » North District » Nazareth
June 18th 2005
Published: September 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post



The last 5 weeks since my last update were the most intense and busy in my life so far. I'll start with the bottom line and then will try to go over the more interesting staff, what I achieved so far and the mistake that I've made.
The Inn is running and open for guest!!! Less then 6 month ago I helped Tony in Buscot Station, New Zealand, and now I own my own guesthouse. I think it's amazing and I consider it as a miracle.
I had 12 basketball players staying last week, including breakfast and it all went very well.
Before I start I want to thanks Nitzan that built and design this website!!! I think he has done a great work in a short time and I just want to say huge THANKS.

Most off all it was very busy, hard work, tiring 5 weeks. I had no time to get excited but just to make sure that everything will be ready.

After the 12 players group confirmed there arrival I went to the carpenter and ordered 8 new beds. We bought linen, pillows, towels and all the supply we needed and worked very hard to be ready on time. Though it was a lot of work we now have 4 very nice rooms that suite 4 couples or 24 people group. I will have o buy more beds if a 24 people group will book…

From the money and investment angle we gave ourselves a budget for the first 3 month. The budget is about 7000 US$ and of course we almost spent it all by now… After that 3 month - in September, we hope to be wiser and to make long term investment program. We hope that the 4 rooms we have got now will generate enough money to renovate 3 more rooms.

What have we done so far?
Renovating the shower & toilet, buying beds, improving the kitchen, built a web site. But most of all I'm trying to build connection with my neighbors and the tourism Industry in Nazareth. I hope I'm doing it well because that is the key to my success.

I know this update is not of the "story" kind. I'm sorry, it's just that so many things happened and I want to share as many as I can without making it to long. Another problem is that I don't have time to red books, when I'm reading I'm feeling how my writing is getting better. Since I'm working now with notebook and "to do list" this is how this update looks like. In time I hope to have more time and free mind to read and I hope you will notice it in my writing.

The current situation is not easy for S and me. S is working as electronic engineer in Tel Aviv while I spend most of my time here in Nazareth. S is coming on the weekend but the problem is that there is so much to do here so she basically work 7 days a week. There is also no time for ourselves since we got guest during the weekend. I'm trying to be in Tel Aviv for 2 nights during the week but I still have to find someone that will help me here with the Inn's work. We need to make many adjustment in our life stile and I hope that in the weeks to come we will find the best way to do it.

We had a first visitor from our world tour - Barbara. We met Barbara in Lake Titicaca, Peru and spent almost a month together. When we said "see soon" in Ushuaia, Argentina we didn't believe that it will be so soon. After reading our mail about the Inn, Barbara accepted our invitation to come and see Israel for the first time. Originally from the States but now living in Hong Kong Barbara came for 2 weeks. It was great meeting old friends especially someone as nice as Barbara… Barbara met our family and become good friend of Maayan - my sister and in 2 weeks had seen big part of Israel including - Haifa, Acre, Jordan River, Sea of Galilee, Tel Aviv, Jerusalem, Mazda and the Dead Sea.
I can just say that both Shlomit and I had a great time with Barbara, that I hope she enjoyed it too (I think she did) and that I hope that more old friends will come to visit us… (Olin & Anne?)

I think I have done just one major mistake so far and I hope it won't have to big of an impact. Our project receive the media intention and I still don't now how to use it for my advantage. The problem is that they are making it into a Jewish Arab story. The first Jews to live in the old city of Nazareth and not about the tourism potential the city has. After I got the cover story in the local newspaper today which said "Jew in the Heart of the Old City" (good picture though…) I've decided to refuse to more publication but to connect the media with Nazareth Tourism Board.


These are the story of the guests I had so far:
• David, my first guest: Volunteered in Nazareth village for 7 days. From Canada
• John & Jan: Backpack in Israel for 2 weeks. Came for 1 night and stayed 5…From England
• 12 basketball players from "Athletic in Action" - I wish all my guest will be as nice as them. From all over.
• Avidan - Chilled out in my place for 4 nights with his dog Koba before getting married. From Israel
• Amit, Maya & Lior - My childhood friends
• Tamar & Yoval - friends of friends. First time in Nazareth. Stay 1 night.

I want to thanks our first guest for the trust and the for their good company.
My family is not included but beside 1 sister (we are 5) everyone had stayed at list 1 night.

That's all. I hope it will take less time for the next update and that we will keep progressing as we have done so far. Feel free to sign our guest book or sending us emails. Your encouragement is a great help.
Hope to host you in the Fauzi Azar Inn soon.

Love & Peace In The Middle East
Maoz Inon


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb