Holy City


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
October 10th 2006
Published: October 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Jerusalem is a very spiritual place, where religions from all around the world meet and share a common interest in the holy land. you sense a wierd tension in the air, and some people even fall into what they call "Jerusalem Syndrome", where they get overwelmed by the spritualness of the place and find their whole life adopts a new direction inline with their calling from God. I loved it. not only are there people from all over the world and a lot of history and culture and things happening... but it's a beautiful city built entirely out of Limestone blocks(its law) so even the new buildings look like they'd fit into any scene from a biblical movie. everyone seems to be in a good mood too, which is always nice. I couple of weeks for Israel is not enough, if you come - bring lots of money and try and stay for a month atleast. it will welcome you with open arms


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Muslims pray at the "Dome of the Rock"Muslims pray at the "Dome of the Rock"
Muslims pray at the "Dome of the Rock"

this Islamic Mosque is built upon the foundaitions of King Herod's and King Sololmon's Temples inside the old city of Jerusalem. this was a s close as I could get because they're not keen on visiters during the holy month of Rammadan
the Western wallthe Western wall
the Western wall

they say that this is an origonal part of the wall of King Solomon's Temple, and so it attracts religous Jews from all over the world who come and pray in front of it.
Torah Scrolls ritual at the Western wallTorah Scrolls ritual at the Western wall
Torah Scrolls ritual at the Western wall

because I was here during all the Jewish festivals, I got to see all sorts of Jewish rituals
Jewish lessonJewish lesson
Jewish lesson

I met this Rabbai who was on his way to give a class explaining the history of "Succot", and he invited me to join. real nice guy, and they all said I could come back for another class but I never found the school again - doh!
Palestinians play BackgammonPalestinians play Backgammon
Palestinians play Backgammon

in the Arabic quarter
kids learn young in the Arabic quarterkids learn young in the Arabic quarter
kids learn young in the Arabic quarter

they love their guns. every other night you'll hear spiratic bursts of gunfire echoeing into the night from the Arab neighbourhoods, because they shoot their guns off into the air as part of the celebrations for weddings.
tough jobtough job
tough job

Buddie has to sell bread all day, but he cant eat any of it untill the sun goes down because the holy month of Rammadan, and they're forbidden to eat, drink, smoke, have sex or do anything during the day
fruit marketfruit market
fruit market

most of the Arabic quarter of old city Jerusalem is made up of markets.
me outside the city wallsme outside the city walls
me outside the city walls

that shirt I'm wearing, was given to me by a Christian Palestinian in the Arabic quarter, who thought I looked too hot in my long sleeved shirt. praise the lord!! :)
breath of fresh airbreath of fresh air
breath of fresh air

it was nice to get out of the city the next day, when the guy at the end from my hostel took me along with some of his buddies to a secret pool up in the hills not far from Jerusalem.
holy waterholy water
holy water

well it felt like it that day. it was so hot that swimming in this pool actually felt like a holy experience.
shortcut through the West Bankshortcut through the West Bank
shortcut through the West Bank

I wanted to get up north for a friend Amy's Baptism in the Galilee, but since there was no bus services on the Sabbath I thought I'd take a short cut through the West Bank.
good startgood start
good start

these kids saved me from the "full sh*t" guys who were trying to bunddle me into their taxi vans and showed me through this gap in the wall. on the other side I found a ligit van thing that took me into the heart of Ramallah


Tot: 0.473s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 23; qc: 126; dbt: 0.1379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb