Humanity Revealed...


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
September 2nd 2015
Published: September 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Having being warned before entering the Holy Sepulcher about the bickering between the various sects of Christianity over this sacred space, I thought to myself, “how unfortunate…” I didn’t experience any of this bickering, but I was humbled by my own reaction as I emerged from venerating the marble slab that commemorates the Tomb of Jesus and the Site of the Resurrection. Within this cramped space, a man was casually chatting on his cell phone. A couple people told him not to do so in this sacred spot. As he continued to talk, I sternly said, “no talking, hang up!” However, as I walked away from this impulsive reaction, I considered why this man may have been on his phone. Was he talking to a sick child or a dying wife? Was he receiving good news? Tragic news? Or was he just being rude? Either way, I was humbled by the fact that my immediate reaction was to assume that he was being rude.



Despite this minor incident, venerating the three holy stones (Rock of Crucifixion, i.e., Golgatha, Rock of Unction, where Jesus was anointed before burial, and the Rock of Resurrection) contained within this sacred space warmed
Chapel of the Crucifixion Chapel of the Crucifixion Chapel of the Crucifixion

Below the altar, I was able to kneel down and venerate the rock of Golgotha.
my heart and brought tears to my eyes. Pictures can NOT do justice to the sacredness of this holy place. Later in my trip, I will make arrangements to hold vigil within the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. If you have any prayer intentions that you would like me to remember during this vigil, please let me know.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Rock of Holy UnctionRock of Holy Unction
Rock of Holy Unction

Tradition tells us that upon this stone, Jesus was anointed before burial.
Crypt of Dormition AbbeyCrypt of Dormition Abbey
Crypt of Dormition Abbey

Possible site of House of Mary and later Assumption
Statue of King DavidStatue of King David
Statue of King David

Outside the Tomb of King David


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb