Jerusalem Day 1


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
October 8th 2012
Published: October 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I visited Caesarea. It is an old, old port city on the Mediterranean in central Israel. It was once a major city under the Romans, then later it was used by the Crusaders as a fortress. After that it was abandoned and covered by shifting sands until it was rediscovered in the 1950s. Today it is a national archaeological park with displays of the ruins (see picture) and a well-done presentation of the area's history. After Caesarea, I took a hired taxi to Jerusalem, which is about an hour and a half away. Originally I had planned to take the train, but today is a Jewish holiday and the trains don't run on holidays. I walked around here in Jerusalem for a little bit before supper. The streets are practically deserted (see picture), but I expect tomorrow they will be bustling. I will let you know!


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement




Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb