Israel Day 2


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Haifa District » Akko
October 7th 2012
Published: October 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first full day in Israel, a country I have never been to before. I woke up early and heard birds singing in the trees outside my window. I walked to the train station and used the limited number of English signs to figure out how to buy myself a ticket to the port city of Akko (also known as Acre). I spent the day walking around the old part of town. There is a large complex of rooms from an old Crusader citadel that has been excavated in recent years. It was interesting to me to walk in the footsteps of Richard Lionhearted, among others. I also enjoyed wandering the back streets of Akko and observing all the exotic food and spices for sale. It is hot here, but fortunately not as hot as it would be if I had come in the summertime. Still, I have no use for my jacket and so I used my daypack today for the first time. It is lightweight, yet sturdy. I can carry everything that I carry in my jacket, and there is even a separate pouch for the iPad. The weather here is quite a change from London. Now
I am more concerned about possible sunburn than I am about whether to carry an umbrella or not!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb