Jerusalem continued...


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
April 6th 2010
Published: April 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wow , the journey is coming to an end this weekend...what an adventure it has been . I am looking forward to reviewing my photos together with my journal and guidebooks to sort out all the images in my head. The other day at the Bible Museum here I was in the Egypt room and I saw a relief from Saqurra and had to grin...I was there!!!It seems like it was a long time ago but it was only (only?) 2 months ago.

Ah well ...

Meanwhile here in Israel I have been captivated . The city offers new vistas on every walk I take. Sunday pm I went to the Biblical and the Israel Museums ., both really interesting and then headed down the road to the Botanical Gardens which were bursting with blooms . A wonderful way to celebrate Easter. Monday it was a full day on a tour with many stops. Qumram ( the dead sea scrolls ), Masada ( Herods fortress and the rebels last stand against Rome ) , the Dead Sea ( a salty soak and scrub with mud ), and Jericho (the oldest city in the world ). A full day ! We were a group from the hostel that has been spending time together the last week so we then had a bit of a farewell supper together when we returned. It was a good group and a good day .

Today I finally got to visit the Temple Mount , David's Citadal Museum and then went and had coffee on the terrace at the King David Hotel .Then I walked through an artist's colony back to and through the old city. Tonight I have a ticket for a sound and light show in the Citadal ... a busy way to end my time in Jerusalem . Tomorrow I hope to tour the RockefellerMuseum before I leave for Netanya and a few days walking on the Mediteranean beach and trying to pack everything back into my bags for my return .

Life is good...



Advertisement



6th April 2010

Oh the memories!
I try to visualize what you are seeing and experiencing and will look forward to your pictures. Enjoy your last days on the beach.
6th April 2010

Very Busy!
Hi Pam, Things to sound very busy for you, but wonderfull! I am looking forward to seeing you soon! Sarah
6th April 2010

Hi
It has been a long travel. But you seem to be very happy...good. I am back from my trip through Egypt and I made many discoveries. First that Egypt is very divers: we started with Caïro, the Gizeh plateau and the pyramids. Then a trip to one oasis and one night in the white desert...quite the experience. Then we flew to Abou Simbel, toured there and took our boat for the cruise on the lake Nasser. we visited the temples saved from the flood because of the Nasser dam. Stopped at Assouan and had our first glimpse at the souk. Then took the cruise on the Nile witch was less peaceful then the one on lake Nasser. Then the big temple and tomb visit of Luxor...so much to see...Then a flight to Sharm el sheikh for a rest for one day at the beach and a look at the beautiful coral reef. Then it was Ste Catherine and the early rise to go up Mount Sinaï at sun rise....many clouds and no sun. Back to Caïro for a 2 day visit...very busy. And a 2 day trip to Alexandria. Back to Caïro and a flight home. Ouf! busy holiday...but enjoyed it very much. I hope to exchange with you soon on our impressions. Welcome home.
6th April 2010

Enjoy you last days.
Glad you had such an interesting winter. Added to the prep time, this has been a busy winter for you. Terrific! It is not summer yet. But there is no snow in Calgary. The wind is quite cold. the sun is warm when it shines. We will be home tomorrow. Travel safely. Love, R&C
6th April 2010

Back in time
You'll be back in time for garage sale season! Welcome home. Oh, and Happy Easter.
7th April 2010

What doesn't fit in your bags can be left for the maids - I am sure that they will appreciate the gesture! Hope your trip home is uneventful. I just learned that Brenda Rensby died last Wednesday - so young. Do take care . . .
7th April 2010

Hi Pam. Well it is coming to an end. Hope you had a totally awesome time--sounds like you did. Thanks for taking me along on your journey. I really enjoyed it. Lynn
8th April 2010

Enjoy the last few days.
I guess we'll see you next week, when you have gotten over jet lag. I'll bet things are green in your yard already. A very early Spring. Out in front of our studio (South facing - hot bed) the hollyhocks are about 2 inches out of the ground. In fact, I came in yesterday morning to water. Still some snow in our back yard on the shady side, and I'm sure it will be gone today/tomorrow. And now the dust. And unfortunately there are lots of canker moths out and about these days. The beach was glorious. Coffee on the deck. Raked the yard in skivies. Which was funny, 'cause Larry was in a parka. Go figure. Still lots of ice on the lake, and lots of song birds out and about. Love it! Picked pussy willows, too. Had too much fun on Sturday night with sister-in-law Louise, sang and danced to the Yardbirds, even. And now back to the studio. Things are looking up. Larry's away all day today on a job. This Sunday I'm hosting a family (17 people) turkey dinner - not at our house - at Benson Manor where there is a huge kitchen with two stoves, and lots of seating room in the common area. My little brother and his wife are visiting (from Houston). Looking forward to seeing them again. I'm anxious to rake our front yard at home. Maybe tonight if I have the energy. I'll be walking home, so that might be enough exercise for today. There was a bit on the news last night about chronic fatigue (not that I have it) - might be a virus related to HIV. Hmmmm. Lunch is ready. Cheers for now.

Tot: 0.373s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0884s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb