Easter Season


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I did spend the next 2 days exploring the New City.
Another WOW is in order .

I took a 2 hour bus tour which ranged over this space both high , with wonderful lookouts over the hills and valleys , and lows ,in the valley's between the hills. Jerusalem , like much of Israel is built in the hills/mountains. I think there are 7 here and although they seem to all be covered with whitish stone buildings there is a significant amount of green space and they are different in age and in style. I will have to show you photos. The tour did give me an idea of the size of the city and it is large . I'm not sure about suburbs, as in Vancouver, I think there is more of that in the TelAviv area. ..it has a metropolitan population with the neighbouring cities of well over a million people.

The tour allowed me on-off privileges as well . My first stop was the Holocost Museum which is a remarkable place of remembrance. It traced the rise of AntiSemitism and the Nazi party from 1933-1948 ... I don't think I had ever had the chance to study that period before . It really looked at the times in about 6 month periods ...how on earth Hitler managed to conquer Europe and impose a Final Solution all over Europe baffles me ... how did he DO that ...

The Museum consumed my attention for about 3 hours ... Possibly the biggest impact was the Memorial to the 1.5 children who were murdered . A dark space with a candle burning and reflected in mirrors and the names , ages and countries of origin of victims being read ...powerful.

After that it was good to spend a bit of time in the park enjoying the sun ,it has warmed up nicely, and enjoying the fresh air before getting back on the bus and continuing the tour.

The following day I spent some time in The Garden Tomb ,which is a wonderful place believed to be the garden/vineyard of Joseph of Aramathea ,before heading into the city again to explore the Jewish Market area , Jaffo Street pedestrian shopping area and then a stroll through the ultraorthadox area which is quite near the hostel. VERY different "vibes" in all three areas. It was another good day.

Good Friday was an incredibly busy day in the old city . Pilgrims from all over the world are here and at times it was chaotic with MANY barriors and restrictions in place . The police/army presence was VERY visible and as far as I know there were no problems. This is good. I attended a service at the garden and later in the day spent some time in the Holy Seplulchre ... the franciscan section that appeals to me.

I also chose to do a walking tour of the four different quarters of the city. Even being here for a week I realized that I had been spending my time in buildings and holy places and really wanted to understand more about the city .Our guide was very good and talked us around for nearly 3 hours...another good day.

Today with 2 people from the hostel I went ou to Bethleham and then on to Hebron in the West Bank. I"m glad I went but I must admit I was a bit nervous about it ... the Wall that divides is a chilling reminder of the tension in this country.

Enough for now. I am off to An Easter Vigil at St Anne's...I hope you are enjoying the season . Look forward to hearing from you.





Advertisement



3rd April 2010

Happy Easter
Pam, enjoyed reading your blog and learning so much. So much history.
3rd April 2010

Happy Easter
It must be incredible to be in Jerusalem during Easter week. What an experience.!!! Is it like living history or completely diffenent I wonder. I am so enjoying your blog and keeping in touch. When I read it I can hear it in my head in your voice. I hope you continue to have a wonderful time and stay safe. Picked pussy willows and the first couple of crocus in the Qu'Apple valley on Good Friday. Sister Jill and I went to the cabin for the aftenoon.
3rd April 2010

When is your flight back to Canada? You must be getting tired of being "on the road". Keep well!
4th April 2010

I am so enjoying your descriptions of every place you visit - and I can really hear your voice, especially in the final words of each blog entry. Don and I had a wonderful quick visit with my family at the Travelodge in Saskatoon on Good Friday and he is now off to visit with his family in Stoughton and I'm home engaged in the never-ending battle to try to get organized. Cannot remember your exact date of return but we are all looking forward to seeing you - maybe we'll be lucky and you'll be home this week. Warmest hugs from Joy
4th April 2010

Happy Easter Pam. You sure picked the right spot to be for Easter. Lynn
5th April 2010

Enjoying the Season!
Well, not quite as much as you are as most of my last four days have been spent in one very familiar place -- on Saturday alone I was at Christ the King for ten hours -- six in the a.m. preparing for our Easter Vigil reception -- 2.5 hrs at a very moving Easter Vigil complete with 3 adult and 2 children baptisms plus 3 adult confirmations and the final 1.5 at the reception. In the hours in between I went home feeling ill -- I'm on medication for 'gout' even though I hardly have the trappings of this condition! And, as usual medication and I do not go together -- stopped taking it so I could enjoy Easter Sunday as we were invited to a 'tapis' style dinner at a friend's with her children, grand and great grandchildlren -- it was fun to be in the company of a group of wonderful young people. How great for you to be where it all happened.
5th April 2010

Happy Easter
Hi Pam, I'm just catching up on your blog. Your trip sounds fascinating. Spring is here in Saskatchewan! My tulips and lilies are up. Enjoy and take care of yourself Jan

Tot: 0.338s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.108s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb