City of David


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
June 13th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Temple Mount RuinsTemple Mount RuinsTemple Mount Ruins

This was the main street outside of the Holy Temple
June 13, 2007
So the Yeshiva I’m staying at is pretty chilled. It’s definitely laid back about the religious observance of its students. Obviously it’s not secular, but luckily they don’t force anything upon us. To give you an idea, I’ve barely prayed since I got here, and I wear shorts, sandals, and a t-shirt to the classes. Attendance, by the way, is optional. Most of the people in my program are at my level of observance (pretty low) or even lower. A few are a little more religious, but not too many.
My roommates and sweet mates are really cool guys. One of my roommates is British, the other a Ukrainian-born Californian. My sweet mates are all east coasters. Two are from Jersey, one’s from Philly. All cool guys.
Today the school took us on a kick-ass hike. We went through the Old City of Jerusalem, but we really focused on the ancient City of David, which actually predates most of the Jerusalem ruins by about 1,000 years. The highlight of the tour was a trip through the old water system. It was about a 20 minute walk through a tunnel that is just barely tall and wide enough to
Umayyad PalaceUmayyad PalaceUmayyad Palace

Site of the former Umayyad Palace
fit a single person. At some points I had to duck, at some I had to walk sideways or collapse my shoulders. The tunnel was filled with water that got as high as my knee, but for pretty much all of the trek it was about ankle-high. It was also freezing cold.
The tunnel was pitch-black, so we all had to carry flashlights, or torches as the Brits called them. There are a lot of British students here actually. I interact with them all so much that last night I dreamt in a British accent. It was creepy. Anyway, that’s off the topic. I’ll tell you about the rest of the hike through pictures, but I had to tell you about that bit separately because it was impossible to take pictures in a tiny, dark, and wet tunnel. I’m only going to post some of the pictures right now because the Internet connection is slow. I’ll post the rest when I get to Tel Aviv. I’ll also post blogs more frequently.
Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for now. Sorry I didn’t post this sooner, but I haven’t had so much free time, and Internet hot spots are few and far
Umayyad EntranceUmayyad EntranceUmayyad Entrance

Entrance to the Umayyad (Turkish) Palace in the Old City
between. I’ll update you all on my living situation and such later. All the best!
-Marcus




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Palace ViewPalace View
Palace View

View from under the previous scaffolding. The surrounding walls are semi-recent (a few hundred years old) and were erected by an Ottoman leader out of fear that European nations were going to start a new crusade.
Byzantine HouseByzantine House
Byzantine House

View from the basement of a Byzantine house. The man with the map is our tour guide, Rabbi Ellis
Tunnel LoveTunnel Love
Tunnel Love

My sweet mate Matt walking Through one of many tunnels.
ResurrectionResurrection
Resurrection

I know it’s hard to see, but in the background there are many rows of little stones. This is the oldest Jewish cemetery in the world. The headstones on the bottom, grassy layer are from the Second Temple Era. This is the site where the resurrection of the dead will begin at the end of days.
SilwaSilwa
Silwa

The Arab village of Silwa that borders the cemetery to the right. Today it is a hotbed of fanaticism and fundamentalism.
Tunnel EntranceTunnel Entrance
Tunnel Entrance

Descent into the waterway tunnel entrance.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb