Jerusalem Through the Eyes of Sara!


Advertisement
Published: December 7th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today my host (friend) set up a meeting for me with her friend to get a special, off the beaten path, view of Jerusalem.

I met Sara downtown Jerusalem and spent the next several hours experiencing this city she loves through her eyes and her stories. I could not believe the pocket neighborhoods hiding in this big city. Absolutly beautiful!

Sara was so sweet during the next couple of hours and was very concerned that I wasn't asking any questions. I couldn't because I was just soaking everything in. Again, here I was experiencing something special that another tourist would never get. I have been consistently humbled to have received the many gifts that Isreal has given to me!

After several hours of walking and listening to Sara, she invited me back to her home for coffee. Of course, how could I refuse?!

Coffee/drinks soon turned into lunch and wine. And of course, wonderful conversation! Here is another dear friend I have had the honor of meeting/making in Isreal!

It was eventually time to go, but Sara made me promise to visit her the next time I come...absolutely! Again, I am so blessed...

Back home and another nap (vacationing is awesome!) Lori was knocking on my door to take me out again for dinner!

First stop, the Zion Hotel for wine and to soak in the incredible views...ahhh, Jerusalem!

Then, it was back to the Shuk to get the best fish and chips and experience the market at night time.

Once the day's commerce is finished, the shops close up and the bars and restaurants emerge! Again, the energy is amazing!

We found the stall for the fish and chips and it was some of the best I ever had! How can I ever go on vacation again without Lori?

After the food, we explored the Shuk and Lori, bless her heart, remembered I had mentioned my love of dark beer. In she took me to the Beerbazar to get a sample. Isrealis are very passionate about their craft beer! And it was very yummy!

We walked some more, bought wine for Doranne for Shabbat then got home around 11. We found Barry and Doranne still up getting ready for Shabbat the next day, there are going to be 18 of us!

Oh, so looking forward to experiencing Shabbat but can't believe how fast my time here has gone...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb