Masada - Dead Sea - Shabbat


Advertisement
Published: December 7th 2019
Edit Blog Post

My last day of vacation...today I had signed up for a tour of Masada and the Dead Sea. One of the house guests also signed up so Florent and I set off to experience this tour.

Florent is a young Frenchman, working in Moscow that is here for holiday too.

Out the door we went to the Hotel down the hill to get picked up by the tour bus...the whole thing was a bit confusing at first but a hour later and a transfer of busses we were off to head out of Jerusalem to Massada. Our first stop was marked by the sign indicating we were at see level and heading further down. Into the desert we went...how often do you get to see camels when looking out your window? Camels!

We then came to Masada and let the tour begin! The history is very intriguing and deep. Please Google it to find out about more of King Herord and also the Jews last stand against the Romans.

We had to take a cable car up to the top, and for those in the know, you are aware how much I hate that kind of stuff but I was determined!

Up at the top you can see the remains of the palace/strong hold and the views! Unfortunately it was hazy. I could see the Dead Sea and the outline of Jordon but it wasn't very clear.

Being part of a tour group we had a tight schedule. I would have loved to spend much more time exploring and soaking everything in...next time!

Down we went in the cable car...eek! Lunch was next and then off to the Dead Sea!

What can I say? It's the lowest place on earth and has 30% saline...the mud is miraculous! I did go into the Dead Sea and the water felt silky and heavy. However, ehh...I'm good. Back up the beach I went to the bar I spied on my way down. A mojito was ordered and I spent a hour enjoying the atmosphere.

Too soon it was ready to go. I think this is the last tour I will ever take, I think I enjoy my pace of exploring vs the companies!

After a long ride back, into the house I ran to quickly get ready for Shabbat! Shower, blow dry and dressed within 20 minutes and it was time to begin the Sabbath.

There was 18 of us tonight and after the lighting/blessing of the candles, washing and prayer over the bread, Barry's prayer for Dorraine, the talking and eating commenced!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb