More Vacation


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Haifa District » Haifa
October 20th 2005
Published: October 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dinner in the DormsDinner in the DormsDinner in the Dorms

From left to right: Dinah, me, Mike, Isaac, and Alex
I am still on vacation from classes due to all the holidays, but the start of the regular school year is nearing.
Last week, I spent Yom Kippur at the local progressive synagogue, Ohel Avraham. We ate our last meal before the fast there around 4pm and then went to Kol Nidre services. We slept overnight at the syngagogue, or actually, on the grass outside, because there was no way for us to commute back to the University--during the holiday there were no transportation services available. I spent most of Yom Kippur in services and finally broke the fast at the synagogue around 6 in the evening.
The day before Sukkot, we built a sukkah on campus. We got permission to take wood from a nearby construction site and a university contractor lent us a couple of hammers and a lot of nails. It was quite a project. Eventually, we had a beautiful sukkah in which to enjoy a nice holiday potluck that night.
On Tuesday, the Haifa International Film Festival began. Individual artisans, musicians, and organizations have booths set up in and around Haifa's parks, where international films are constantly being shown outdoors on huge screens. There are also international
Out for CoffeeOut for CoffeeOut for Coffee

From left to right: me, Jess, Ilana, and Jenn
films playing in Haifa's indoor theatres. Tuesday night I saw a Swedish Film called "Vinterkissen" (Winter's Kiss). The festival continues through the end of October.
Wednesday, we visited Tel Aviv. We saw Israel's Hall of Independence and the heart of the city. That night I stayed with a friend from camp. We went out for ice cream with a couple of other Israeli camp staff members, which was nice. This morning I visited yet another camp staff member in Raanana and eventually took a train back to Haifa.
Now, all that lies between today and the start of classes is Shabbat and Simchat Torah. I look forward to both!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Out for CoffeeOut for Coffee
Out for Coffee

Juli and me
In Tel AvivIn Tel Aviv
In Tel Aviv

Me and Anat at her house


21st October 2005

Film Fest!
Hi, Mari Have you seen my sister Batya lately? She usually hits the film festival, too. Your pics are great, and I loved seeing the one of Anat. Give her my love, too. Chag sameach and have a wonderful year..you're off to a good start. And call my sister!

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0849s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb