Week of Rosh HaShana


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » North District » Golan
October 11th 2005
Published: October 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Living in Israel is different from living in Chicago in countless ways, one of which being that in Israel, the school year is built around the High Holy Days. There were no classes at all between last Thursday and today, Monday the 10th, so I had a long week for exploring.
Last Sunday night I went on a very special trip with our group and with a high school class to Mount Meron, the site of an ancient synagoge and tradition of mystical Judaism. We walked and studied all night long in preparation for the new year.
Monday morning I took a train from Haifa to Tel Aviv, where I met a friend of mine from my last trip to Israel. We spent the afternoon driving around Tel Aviv to various shelters and hostiles for soldiers without families inviting people in need to come to a Rosh HaShana dinner that my friend's family was preparing. Her older brother works for a catering comany that happily provided the food, and the dinner was served at a local park district. The meal was wonderful and a great way to start the year.
Tuesday morning we drove up to where my friend lives in the Golan on a Kibbutz called Mevo Hama. We filled the rest of the week with hiking and relaxing--a perfect vacation combination!
There were classes today and yesterday, and now I am back on vacation for two weeks for Yom Kippur and Sukkot. The schedule won't really settle down until the end of October! I wish to everyone a happy and healthy new year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb