Holy Sand Batman


Advertisement
Iraq's flag
Middle East » Iraq » West » Al Asad Airbase
June 17th 2008
Published: June 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Holy sand batman. Today we encountered the worst sandstorm yet. There has been light sand for the last few days. This morning I got up and gathered my things to go shower and as I opened the door I was greeted with a wall of sand. The sand was so thick that you could not see to the end of the row of CHUs that I live on. I dawned my baclava and wrap around glasses and headed to work only to get covered in sand. It is almost like running out of a grocery store to your car in a rain storm but instead of getting drenched you get pasted with sand. My uniform was totally brown by the time I made it to work (which is only 170 steps).
At lunch time Mark and I headed to the DFAC. The weather had not improved, in fact I believe that it got worse. We couldn’t see much in front of us but eventually made it, just made it sandier. I stopped to take some pictures so that I could show what a sandstorm looks like, but I don’t think I really captured the essence. I have had a hard time getting a picture that really captures what it looks like. I will never be able to fully describe it but to say that you find sand in every orafice after coming inside - and that sand has a unique taste. Attached is a picture of me in my sandstorm attire and two pictures of the road in front of the hospital.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb