Cobh car rally


Advertisement
Europe
June 24th 2017
Published: June 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Midsummer's Day dawned a little cloudy over Cobh harbour, but the sun soon came out as nearly 40 classic cars lined up for an 11.30 start. Some of us remember each other from last year. My friend who lives in Cobh (Michael) comes with me, usefully, as he can direct me to a petrol station when the 69 mile course leaves me nearly out of fuel. The 1937 Austin Seven stood next to the 1932 Rolls at the lunchtime stop. “Opposite ends of the spectrum’, said the Austin owner, taking a photo.
The circular route takes us back to Cobh where we eat at the Trade Winds cafe, where I had a delicious chowder last night. After the meal the cups are presented. The cup I won last year was not presented again as they did not have the rally quiz, but I saw my name engraved on it from last year (misspelled as Howley). I did win another cup - furthest travelled, and another Cork crystal vase. How many crystal vases does a girl need? Perhaps I can find some stones to go in it; there are enough beautiful stones here on every beach to fill 50 such.
Cobh is a beautiful town. Michael says this is unusual as Ireland does not appreciate visual aesthetics in buildings, and that most villages are thrown up with little cohesion. I think Ireland is such a beautiful country anyway that it can get away with the villages being a bit of a mess.
The weather, though cooler than last week, is still warm.
Michael and I go to his son's pub for the evening, after I've driven the van down to behind the station, though still on the harbour front. Last night on the main road was a little noisy and I remember last year several jokers thumped on the van on their way past from the nightclub.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb